Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship

The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship supports Australian writers of biography, and extends to include a writer who is working on an aspect of cultural or social history. The Fellowship awards $15,000 to assist with travel and research.

Key dates

Applications will become available from 9am 1 October 2019 and can be accessed by clicking the below button. Submissions close at 5pm on 16 November 2019.

For further details on the Fellowship, please click the below button.


2019 Fellow

Eleanor Hogan was awarded the $15,000 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship during Adelaide Writers’ Week, following the Hazel Rowley Memorial lecture given by award-winning author Maria Tumarkin on Monday 4 March 2019. Her project, 'Into the Loneliness', is a speculative biographical work about the collaboration between journalist Ernestine Hill and self-taught ethnologist Daisy Bates. 

“Eleanor Hogan’s study of Ernestine Hill and Daisy Bates promises to be a fascinating exploration of women’s relationships in 20th century Australia, even as it offers fresh insight into the problematic formation of an ethnological consensus about Indigenous Australia,” said Fellowship judge Jeff Sparrow.

"Eleanor’s idea of a joint biography of two feisty women within a fascinating and important period of our history won over the judges," said Della Rowley, sister of the late biographer in whose name the Fellowship has been established. "Her proposal recalls Hazel’s own interest in exploring the complex relationships between two people whose lives are intertwined.” 

Past Fellows

In 2018, the Fellowship was awarded to Jacqueline Kent (NSW) for her proposed biography of Vida Goldstein (1869-1949). The judges also awarded a Special Hazel Rowley Award of $15,000 to Drusilla Modjeska (NSW) for her proposed memoir, 'First Half Second: Volume 2'.

In 2017, the Fellowship was awarded to Anne-Marie Priest (QLD) biography of Australian poet Gwen Harwood (1920-1995). For the first time, the Fellowship also made a highly-commended award of $3,000 to Suzanne Spunner (Vic) for her biography of East Kimberley artist Rover Thomas.

The 2016 Fellowship was awarded to Matthew Lamb (TAS) for his proposed cultural biography of the Australian writer Frank Moorhouse.

The 2015 Fellowship winner was announced at Adelaide Writers Week. Caroline Baum will use the $10,000 Fellowship to write a biography of Lucie Dreyfus (1870-1945).

The 2014 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was awarded to Maxine Beneba Clarke (Vic). Maxine's autobiography ‘The Hate Race’ – a memoir about growing up black in white middle-class Australia – was published by Hachette in August 2016.

The 2013 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was awarded to Stephany Steggall whose biography of Thomas Keneally, ‘Interestingly Enough’ was published by Nero in 2015..

The 2012 winner, Mary Hoban, worked on a biography of Julia Arnold (nee Sorell, 1826-1888).

The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship is supported by the Hazel Rowley Literary Fund; a sub-fund of Australian Communities Foundation.