Home » Writeability Fellowships

Writeability Fellowships

We are pleased to announce that applications for the 2023 Writeability Fellowships are now open. Due to funding constraints, we are unable to offer 5 Writeability Fellowships this year. Instead, 2 writers with disability will have the opportunity to receive Fellowships to support their professional development.

Since 2013, thanks to the support of the Grace Marion Wilson Trust, Writers Victoria has recognised five outstanding writers with disability each year thanks to the Writeability Fellowship Program.

Our Writeability Fellowships support emerging writers with disability with tailored professional development support such as manuscript assessments, curated programs of workshops, and/or mentoring.

2023 Writeability Fellowships

How to apply

Applications open Monday 25 September and close at 4pm AEDT Monday 30 October.

To be eligible for the Fellowships, applicants must identify as an emerging writer with disability and be resident of Victoria. An emerging writer is a writer who has not yet published a full-length work.

WV staff or Committee of Management members are not eligible to apply.

To apply, you need to send us the following by 4pm AEDT on Tuesday 30 October.

  • Completed application form
  • An extract of your writing from your Write-ability Fellowship project (up to 1,000 words)

You can submit your application:

  • via Submittable
  •  via email to the Writeability Project Manager Lyndel Caffrey: [email protected]
  • via post or in person (during business hours 10am – 4pm Mon – Fri) to: Writers Victoria, Level 3, The Wheeler Centre, 176 Little Lonsdale Street, Melbourne 3000.

 You can access the 2023 Writeability Fellowship Guidelines and Application form here.

Please email Writeability Project Manager Lyndel Caffrey at [email protected] if you have any questions or if you’d like to receive the Guidelines and Application form in a different format.

Tim Williams was a 2020 Writeability Fellow. Click here to learn more about how he worked with mentor Tim Hobart.

Past Writeability Fellows

The 2022 Writeability Fellows are:

  • Emma Rennison
  • Maggie Scott
  • Juliet Sironi
  • Sarah Stivens
  • Dorian Sutton

The 2021 Writeability Fellows are:

  • Chim Sher Ting
  • Beau Windon
  •  Claire Capel-Stanley
  • Sarah Halfpenny
  • Steph Amir

The 2020 Writeability Fellows are:

  • David Maney
  • Tim Williams
  • Artemis Munoz
  • Christine Davey White
  • Binh Pham

In 2020, Writers Victoria offered an additional Regional Fellowship, and an additional Poetry Fellowship, provided through the generosity of an anonymous donor.

  • Poetry Fellow: Ruby Hillsmith
  • Regional Fellow: Janet Hildebrand

Three writers were also highly commended by the judges: Alana Schetzer, Michelle Revill and Fiorella Matos.

The 2019 Writeability Fellowships were awarded to:

  • Alex Creece
  • M. J. McArthur
  • Jessica Obersby
  • Leah Robertson
  • Paul Whitby

Three shortlisted writers were also highly commended by the judges – Erica Cervini; Arty Owens and Joanne Penney.

The 2018 Writeability Fellowships were awarded to:

  • Kathleen Humble
  • Michael Krockenberger
  • Anthony Riddell
  • Michelle Vasiliu, and
  • Jo Walters.

Three shortlisted writers were also highly commended by the judges – Louise Falconer, CB Mako and Olivia Muscat.

The 2017 Writeability Fellowships were awarded to:

  • Mary Borsellino
  • Sonia Marcon
  • Jarrod Marrinon
  • Fiona Murphy
  • Jessica Walton

A further two shortlisted writers were highly commended:  Maribel Steel and Michelle Vasiliu.

The 2016 Write-abiltiy Fellowships were awarded to:

The 2015 Writeability Fellowships were awarded to:

The 2014 Writeability Fellowships were awarded to:

  • Giovanni di Mase
  • Kate Morrell
  • Michelle Roger
  • Nicole Smith
  • Sarah Widdup

A further three shortlisted writers were highly commended: Naomi Snell, Tully Zygier and Veronica Fil.

The 2013 Writeability Fellowships were awarded to:

  • Carly Findlay
  • Heidi Everett
  • Jack Waghorn
  • Kate Hood
  • Robbie O’Brien

Writers Victoria acknowledges the generous support of the Grace Marion Wilson Trust for this program. Writeability is also made possible by the support of the Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation.

Writeability is also grateful for the previous support of the City of Melbourne, Perpetual Trustees, Copyright Agency Ltd, the Ian Potter Foundation, Perpetual, the Australian Government through the Australia Council for the Arts and the Victorian Government through Creative Victoria.

Scroll to Top