Write-ability Fellowships

Thanks to the support of the Grace Marion Wilson Trust, Writers Victoria is able to support five writers with disability each year with free mentoring with authors, assessors and industry experts.

Applications for 2018 Write-ability Fellowships are now closed and will be announced shortly.

Now in its sixth year, our Write-ability Fellowships support emerging writers with disability with tailored professional development support such as manuscript assessments, curated programs of workshops, and/or mentoring.


Past Write-ability Fellows

The 2017 Write-ability Fellowships were awarded to:

  • Mary Borsellino
  • Sonia Marcon 
  • Jarrod Marrinon
  • Fiona Murphy
  • Jessica Walton

A further two shortlisted writers were highly commended:  Maribel Steel and Michelle Vasiliu.

The 2016 Write-abiltiy Fellowships were awarded to:

The 2015 Write-ability Fellowships were awarded to:

The 2014 Write-ability Fellowships were awarded to:

A further three shortlisted writers were highly commended: Naomi Snell, Tully Zygier and Veronica Fil.

The 2013 Write-ability Fellowships were awarded to:

Writers Victoria acknowledges the generous support of the Grace Marion Wilson Trust for this program. Write-ability is also made possible by the support of the Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation.

Write-ability is also grateful for the previous support of the City of Melbourne, Perpetual Trustees, Copyright Agency Ltd, the Ian Potter Foundation, Perpetual, the Australian Government through the Australia Council for the Arts and the Victorian Government through Creative Victoria.