Patricia Cornelius wins VPLA

Wednesday, September 7, 2011
Writers Victoria

The five winners of the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award have been announced, including Patricia Cornelius who won the Louis Esson Prize for Drama for her play 'Do Not Go Gentle'.

After already receiving the Miles Franklin award, everyone will be reading Kim Scott’s 'The Deadman’s Dance', which was awarded the prize for the fiction category.

Cate Kennedy received the CJ Dennis prize for her poetry collection 'The Taste of River Water'. Mark McKenna won the Nettie Palmer prize for non-fiction for his biography 'An Eye For Eternity: The Life of Manning Clark' and Cassandra Gold won the young adult category for 'The Three Loves of Persimmon.'

“It was good to see Ted Baillieu genuinely, enthusiastically taking part in proceedings and taking ownership of the event,” said VWC Director Roderick Poole, who believes one award was, however, missing from the night.

“One of the people who perhaps deserved an additional award was Casey Benetto who managed to sing spirited introductions to every award and include references to the titles of every shortlisted work.”