Our Prize Winners for October 2018

Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.

Collective Celebrations


The Wheeler Centre (TWC) has announced the 10 inaugural recipients of the 2018 Next Chaptergrants for developing writers, each worth $15,000.

Among the 2018 Next Chapter recipients are:

  • Jean Bachoura, member
  • Lian Low,member
  • Ara Sarafian, member

Among the applicants that were also highly commended for their entries:

  • Fiona Murphy,member
  • Bobuq Sayed, member
  • Adut Wol Akec, member


The Australian Society of Authors (ASA) has announced the shortlist for the 2018 Barbara Jefferis Award.

Among shortlisted titles are:​

  • Jane Rawson, for 'From the Wreck'


Hachette Australia and the Emerging Writers’ Festival have announced the shortlist for the 2018 Richell Prize for emerging writers.

Among the shortlisted writers and their works are:

  • Mandy Beaumont, member, for 'She is Bright Light and All Brilliance’
  • Fiona Murphy, member, for 'The Shape of Sound'


Scribe and Express Media have announced the shortlist for this year’s Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers.

Among the shortlisted works are:

  • Zowie Douglas-Kinghorn, member, for '‘The Invisible Sea’


The winners of the 2018 Queensland Literary Awards (QLAs) were announced on 23 October.

Among the winning titles in each category are:

Steele Rudd Award for a Short Story Collection:

  • Jennifer Down, member, for 'Pulse Points'


The winners of the 2018 Young Australians Best Book Awards (YABBAs), Victoria’s children’s choice awards, have been announced.

Among the winning titles are:

Fiction for older readers

  • Andy Griffiths, member, illus by Terry Denton, member, for 'The 91-Storey Treehouse'


Individual Celebrations

Jill Giese, member, has won the 2018 Victorian Premier’s History Award, for her book 'The Maddest Place on Earth'.

Writers Victoria member, Jennifer Down’s short story collection 'Pulse Points' has won the 2018 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction.

Bernadette Brennan, member, has won the Council for the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences’ (CHASS) 2018 Australia Book Prize, for her book 'A Writing Life: Helen Garner and Her Work'.