Our prize winners for November 2016

Monday, December 5, 2016
Sarah Vincent

Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.

Collective celebrations

Libraries from 109 cities around the world nominated 147 books for the long list for the 2017 International DUBLIN Literary Award worth €100,000, the most valuable prize for a novel published in English. Ten books by Australian authors are on the long list including:

  • 'Forever Young’ by Steven Carroll, tutor
  • ‘The Heat’ by Garry Disher, member
  • ‘Salt Creek’ by Lucy Treloar, tutor

The winners of the 23rd Scarlet Stiletto Short Story Awards were announced at a gala dinner on Saturday the 19th November. Among the winners were:

  • Jacqui Horwood, member, won the special silver stiletto trophy for her story ‘Diving for Pearls’. Only previous stiletto (first prize) winners were eligible to enter this category.
  • Sandi Wallace, member, took out the Harper Collins Romantic Suspense Award for her story ‘Busted’.
  • Leisl Egan, member, won The Clan Destine Press Award for Cross Genre for her story ‘He was Hers’
  • Gabrielle Gardner, member, was highly commended for her story ‘The Trip’

2016 AusRomToday Reader’s Choice Awards nominees were announced and among the nominees were:

Best Established Author:

  • Alli Sinclair, member and tutor

Author of the Year:

  • Alli Sinclair, member and tutor
  • Juliet M Sampson, member

Book of the Year:

  • ‘Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms’ by Anita Heiss, tutor
  • ‘Dance Demons’ by Juliet M Sampson, member

Winners in The Boroondara Literary Awards 2016 have been announced. Among them in the Open Short Story Competition were:

  • Second place to Susi Fox, member for her storyPremium Brand’
  • Third place to Kate Ryan, member, for her story ‘Love Letters’
  • Highly Commended were Penny Gibson, member, for ‘At the Bend in the Road’, Robyn Butler, member for ‘Black Cockatoos’ and Emma Cayley, staff member, for ‘Bearings’
  • Emma Cayley, staff member, also won the Keith Carroll Award for Best Boroondara Entrant

Individual celebrations

The winners of this year’s Kids Reading Oz Choice (KROC) Awards, the children’s choice book awards for the Northern Territory, have been announced. Amongst the winning titles was Jackie French, tutor, for ‘A Waltz for Matilda’ in the category of Fiction for years 7-9

Maryrose Cuskelly, member, won the New England Thunderbolt Prize for Crime Writing in the non-fiction category for her essay ‘Well before dark’

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2016 winners were announced and amongst them was ‘The Life of Houses by Lisa Gorton, tutor, a joint winner in the fiction category

The Small Press Network (SPN) has announced the shortlist for this year’s Most Underrated Book Award (MUBA) Award. Among the shortlisted titles is ‘A Man Made Entirely of Bats’ by Patrick Lenton, tutor

Maxine Beneba Clarke, tutor, delivered the opening keynote address at the third annual Word for Word Nonfiction Festival in Geelong

Children’s book author Alison Lester, tutor, has been awarded the 2016 Dromkeen Medal at a presentation at the State Library of Victoria (SLV). The Dromkeen Medal is presented annually to an Australian citizen for a ‘significant contribution to the appreciation and development of children’s literature in Australia’

UWAP has announced the Dorothy Hewett Award 2016 shortlist. On the list was Karen Han Throssell, member, for ‘The Man Who Wasn’t There’, a memoir ‘in defence of the political vilification of her father by the granddaughter of Katharine Susannah Prichard’

Rumi Komonz, member, short story won a prize in the 12th edition of Port Phillip Writes’

Anna Spargo-Ryan, member, was shortlisted for the 2016 Horne Prize.