Our prize winners for March 2017

Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Sarah Vincent

Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.

Collective celebrations

The Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Notable Books for 2017 have been announced, with the shortlist and winners to be named later this year. Among the Notable books are:

Book of the Year: Older Readers

  • Cath Crowley, assessor and member, for ‘Words in Deep Blue’
  • Zana Fraillon, tutor, for ‘The Bone Sparrow’
  • Alison Goodman, tutor, for ‘Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club’
  • Shivaun Plozza, assessor, tutor and member for ‘Frankie’
  • Nova Weetman, member, for ‘Everything is Changed’
  • Ailsa Wild, member, for ‘The Invisible War: A Tale on Two Scales’

Book of the Year: Younger Readers

  • Goldie Alexander, member, for ‘Cybertricks’
  • Leanne Hall, tutor, for ‘Iris and the Tiger’
  • Bruce Pascoe, tutor, for ‘Mrs Whitlam’
  • Sherryl Clark, assessor, for ‘Pocket Rocket’ (with Ellyse Perry)
  • Nova Weetman, member, for ‘The Secrets We Keep’
  • Ailsa Wild, member, for ‘Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters’

Book of the Year: Early Childhood

  • Marie Alafaci, assessor, tutor and member, for ‘Zelda’s Big Adventure’
  • Jane Godwin, tutor, for ‘Bear Make Den’ (with Michael Wagner)
  • Alison Lester, tutor, for ‘Hello Little Babies’
  • Claire Saxby, tutor, for ‘Wild Pa’

Picture Book of the Year

  • Maxine Beneba Clarke, tutor, for ‘The Patchwork Bike’
  • Jane Godwin, tutor, for ‘Hattie Helps Out’ (with Davina Bell)
  • Leigh Hobbs, tutor, for ‘Mr Chicken Arriva a Roma’

The Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

  • Lorna Hendry, tutor, ‘The Gigantic Book of Genes’
  • Kate Ryan, member, for ‘Degas: An Art Book for Kids’

The shortlist for The 2017 Indie Book Awards has been announced. The Awards were established in 2008 with the aim of creating a unique award recognising and rewarding the best Australian writing as chosen by Australian Independent Booksellers. Among the shortlist are:


  • Maxine Beneba Clarke, tutor, for ‘The Hate Race’
  • Helen Garner, tutor, for ‘Everywhere I Look’

Young Adult

  • Cath Crowley, member and manuscript assessor, for ‘Words in Deep Blue’
  • Amie Kaufman, tutor, for ‘Gemina’ (with Jay Kristoff)
  • Mark Smith, member, for ‘The Road to Winter’

The winners of the 2016 National Literary Awards of The Fellowship of Australian Writers has been announced. Among the winners are:

Christina Stead Published Fiction Award

  • First Prize Liam Pieper, tutor, for ‘The Toymaker’
  • Commended Sue Parritt, member, for ‘Pia and the Skyman’

Jennifer Burbidge Short Story Award commended:

  • Vicky Daddo, member, for ‘My Next Incarnation’\
  • Bette Martin, member for ‘Perspective’
  • Melisabeth Cooper Fell, member, for ‘Chicken Sots’

Jim Hamilton Award for an Unpublished Manuscript

  • First Prize joint-winner Trish Bolton, member, for ‘Murder Most Suburban’
  • Commended:
    • Mark Brandi, member, for ‘Frankie’
    • Graeme Sparkes, member, for ‘Macauley Station’
    • Kirsten Cameron, member, for ‘Mary and the Sound of the Gun’

Angelo B Natoli Short Story Award

  • Second Prize Mark Brandi, member, for ‘The Fox’
  • Highly Commended Susan Fox, member, for ‘Immediate Family’.
  • Commended:
    • Eugen Bacon, member, for ‘Jungolo’
    • Katrina Watson, member, for ‘A Pair of Shorts’

Di Cranston Script Award

  • Commended Lyndal Simpson, member, for ‘Possum’

Micro Fiction Award

  • Highly Commended Eugen Bacon, member, for ‘Mahuika’
  • Commended Lyndal Simpson, member, for ‘Metro-Sexual Romance’

Individual celebrations

‘The Crying Place’, a novel by Lia Hills, member, released with Allen & Unwin in March 2017, has been chosen as the Australian Independent Bookseller’s Book of the Month for March.

The shortlist for the 2017 Stella Prize has been announced. Among the six shortlisted titles is ‘The Hate Race’ by Maxine Beneba Clarke, tutor. The winner will be announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 18 April.

Anita Heiss, tutor, is one of nine new appointees to the Library Board of Queensland, announced by the Queensland government this week.