Our prize winners for June 2017

Monday, July 3, 2017
Sarah Vincent

Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.

Collective celebrations

The shortlist of the 2017 Rachel Funari Prize For Fiction has been announced. On the shortlist are:

  • ‘Burning Day’ by Kristin Meachem, member
  • ‘Crack’ by Zoë Bradley, member
  • ‘Suffering is Universal’ by Jean Flynn, member
  • ‘The Glass Half’ by Emily Clements, member
  • ‘The Nest’ by Kerrin O’Sullivan, member

The longlist for the inaugural ‘Kill Your Darlings’ Unpublished Manuscript Award has been announced. The award attracted 235 entries from across Australia. Among the longlisted authors and their works are:

  • Alice Bishop, member, for ‘A Constant Hum’
  • Joshua Pomare, member, for ‘The Survivor’


Individual celebrations

Fikret Pajalic, member, won The Ada Cambridge Biographical Prose Prize 2017 which was announced at The Willy Lit Fest.

Robert Lukins, member, is among the recipients of Creative Victoria’s latest round of arts grants. Robert’s grant will support the completion of a novel which is to be published by UQP in March 2018.

Fantasy author and tutor, Isobelle Carmody, has been named the 2017 ACT Writer-in-Residence, an initiative of the ACT Writers Centre and UNSW Canberra.

Member Eugen Bacon’s short story ‘Honey Gone Sour’ has won the best prose award by Meniscus Journal, part of the Australasian Association of Writing Programs (AAWP). 

The shortlist for this year’s Colin Roderick Award and H T Priestley Memorial Medal, administered by the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies at James Cook University, has been announced. Among the shortlisted titles are ‘Carrying the World’ by Maxine Beneba Clarke, tutor.

Member and assessor Kate Ryan's essay 'Some Thoughts on Life Drawing' was longlisted for the 2017 ABR Calibre Prize.

The winners in the Ditmar Awards 2017 have been announced. Established in 1969, the Ditmar Awards recognise achievement in Australian science-fiction, fantasy and horror. Among the winners was ‘Dreaming in the Dark’ by Jack Dann, tutor who tied for Best Collected Work prize.