Our Prize Winners for January 2019

Friday, February 1, 2019


Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.

Collective Celebrations

Margaret River Press has announced the shortlist for the 2019 Margaret River Short Story Competition. Among the shortlist are:

  • Justine Hyde, member for 'Emotional Support'
  • Jenni Mazaraki, member for 'Somebody’s Baby'
  • Mark Smith, tutor for 'A Concreter’s Heart'
  • Jem Tyley-Miller, member for 'The Monster in the Lake'

Individual Celebrations

Bram Presser, member, has won the debut fiction award at the 2018 National Jewish Book Awards for his novel The Book of Dirt (Text).

Liz Walkenhorst, member, was shortlisted in the 2018 Hal Porter short story awards for her story Live-stock.