Our Prize Winners for February 2019

Friday, March 1, 2019


Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.

Penguin Random House Australia is delighted to announce the shortlisted authors for the 2019 Penguin Literary Prize. Among the shortlist are:

  • Imbe Neeme, member, for ‘The Spill’
  • Kirsten Krauth, member, for ‘Almost a Mirror’

The longlist for the 2019 Stella Prize, worth $50,000, has been announced. Among the longlist are:

  • Jenny Ackland, member, for ‘Little Gods’
  • Enza Gandolfo, member, for ‘The Bridge’

Varuna, the Writers’ House, has announced the shortlisted manuscripts for its 2019 Publisher Introduction Program (PIP). Among the shortlist are:

  • Luke Johnson, member, for ‘Ferocious Animals’
  • Sue Robertson, member. for ‘Letting Go’
  • Annabel Smith, tutor, for ‘Monkey See’


The finalists for the 2018 Aurealis Awards, presented for science fiction, fantasy and horror writing in Australia, have been announced. Amongst the finalists are:

Best science fiction novel

Best fantasy novel

  • Alison Goodman, tutor, for ‘Lady Helen and the Dark Days Deceit’
  • Alethea Kinsela, member, for ‘Lightning Tracks’

Best children’s fiction

  • Rebecca Lim, tutor, for ‘The Relic of the Blue Dragon’ 
  • Penni Russon, tutor, for ‘The Endsister’ 
  • Gabrielle Wang, member, for ‘Ting Ting the Ghosthunter’

Best anthology

  • Rivqa Rafael, member, for ‘Mother of Invention’

Best science fiction novella

  • Corey J White, member, for ‘Static Ruin’

Best horror novella

  • Chris Mason, member, for ‘The Black Sea’
  • Kirstyn McDermott, tutor, for ‘Triquetra’

Best horror short story

  • Jason Nahrung, member, for ‘Slither’

Best young adult short story

  • Deborah Sheldon, member, for ‘For Weirdless Days and Weary Nights’


The Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) has announced its list of Notable Books for 2019. The Notable Books list acts as the longlist for the CBCA Book of the Year Awards. Amongst the Notable Books are:

Older readers

  • Scot Gardner, member for ‘Changing Gear’
  • Eliza Henry-Jones, tutor, for ‘P is for Pearl’
  • Ellie Marney, tutor, for ‘White Night’
  • Lili Wilkinson, tutor, for ‘After the Lights Go Out’

Early childhood

  • Rachel Flynn, assessor, for ‘Collecting Sunshine’
  • Jane Godwin, mentor/tutor, for ‘Red House, Blue House, Green House, Tree House!’
  • Alison Lester, tutor, for ‘Noni the Pony Rescues a Joey’
  • Alison Lester, tutor, for ‘Tricky’s Bad Day’

Picture book

  • Jane Godwin, mentor/tutor, for Go Go and the Silver Shoes 

Eve Pownall Award for information books

  • Jane Godwin, mentor/tutor, for ‘Watch This!’
  • Lorna Hendry, tutor, for ‘Germs’
  • Linda Jackson, member for ‘Rainbow Menagerie’


Individual Celebrations

  • Anne Gracie, tutor, is the winner in the categoryFavourite historical romance for ‘Marry in Scandal’ in the 2018 Australian Romance Readers Awards
  • Mat Larkin, member, has been shortlisted for the Readings Children’s Book Prize for 2019 for The Orchard Underground