Our prize winners for February 2017

Monday, March 6, 2017
Sarah Vincent

Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.

Collective celebrations

The longlists for the 2017 Inky Awards have been announced. The awards are presented by the Centre for Youth Literature at the State Library of Victoria for local and international fiction, poetry, anthologies and graphic novels written for young adults. Among the titles longlisted for the Gold Inky Award for an Australian book are:

  • ‘Frankie’ by Shivaun Plozza, assessor, tutor and member
  • ‘My First Lesson’, ed by Alice Pung, tutor
  • ‘Words in Deep Blue’ by Cath Crowley, assessor and member

The finalists for the 2016 Aurealis Awards have been announced. The Western Australian Science Fiction Foundation (WASFF) are the organisers of the award and the winners will be announced at the Aurealis Awards ceremony on 14 April as part of the Swancon convention in Perth. Among the finalists are:

  • Best Young Adult Novel
    • ‘The Bone Queen’ by Alison Croggon, tutor
    • ‘Lady Helen and the Dark Days Pact’ by Alison Goodman, tutor
    • ‘Gemima: Illuminae Fil es 2’ by Amie Kaufman, tutor (with Jay Kristoff)
  • Best Fantasy Novel
    • ‘Road to Winter’ by Mark Smith, member
  • Best Science Fiction Novel
    • ‘Gemima: Illuminae Files 2’ by Amie Kaufman, tutor (with Jay Kristoff)

The shortlist for the Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize has been announced. With support from the Malcolm Robertson Foundation, the competition awards a first place of $4,000 and two runner-up prizes of $500. The winning story will be published in Overland’s first edition of the year (available mid-March), with the two runners-up published as part of the edition online. Good luck to the following members on the shortlist:

  • David McLean, member, for ‘Life’s canon’
  • Katy Warner, member, for ‘The Trip’

The Shortlist for the Varuna Publisher Introduction Program 2017 Fellowships has been announced. From the 194 manuscripts submitted 30 were chosen for the shortlist. These 30 have been sent to the seven publishers involved in the program. Each publisher will choose one or two manuscripts to award a PIP Fellowship, which includes a one-week residency, a literary mentor and the guarantee that the writer's manuscript will be read by one of seven leading Australian publishers. We wish the following shortlisted members well for the announcement of the winners in two months’ time.

  • ‘Ebony Black’ by Rachel Bowen (Young adult fiction)
  • Sixteen-year-old Ebony is murdered then resurrected as a warrior chosen to hunt killers.
  • ‘A Moth to the Flame’ by Emily Stoikovich (Fiction)
  • When two women's lives fall apart they forge an unlikely friendship that ultimately saves them.
  • SAYFO - Year of the Sword’ by Sarah Lindenmayer (Narrative non-fiction)
  • The true story of an Anzac who rescued 90,000 Assyrian refugees from genocide during the Great War.
  • ‘What They Didn't Say’ by Janine Mikosza (Fiction)
  • One mistake in her childhood altered the course of her future; how far will she go to atone for the past?
  • ‘Mending Heart’ by Anne Hotta (Short stories)

In this collection of short stories set in Australia and Japan, the protagonists struggle to overcome their dilemmas.

The shortlists for the 2017 West Australian Young Readers’ Book Awards (WAYRBA) have been announced. The WAYRBA are voted on by young readers from across Western Australia. Books are eligible to be nominated if they were published within the past five years and are currently in print. Among the shortlisted entries were:

  • Younger readers

    • ‘Double Dare You: Ella Diaries Book One’ by Meredith Costain, tutor
  • Older readers
    • ‘Illuminae’ by Amie Kaufman, tutor, & Jay Kristoff
    • The Road to Winter by Mark Smith, member
    • Green Valentine by Lili Wilkinson, tutor

The shortlist for the 2016 Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize for New and Emerging Poets has been announced. Among the eight shortlisted poems were:

  • ‘Absent Self-portrait’ by Shari Kocher, member
  • ‘River of Crumbs’ by Sumudu Samarawickrama, member

The Readings Children’s Book Prize 2017 shortlist has been announced. The shortlist was chosen by Readings children’s specialists. Children’s author Elizabeth Honey will join the panel to choose the winner. The prize ‘recognises and celebrates Australian books that children love to read, and raises the profile of debut and on-the-rise Australian children’s book authors’. It only considers books by authors who have published no more than four children’s books for five- to 12-year-olds. On the list is:

  • ‘Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters’ by Ailsa Wild, member
  • ‘The Secrets We Keep’ by Nova Weetman, member

Individual celebrations

The winners of the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2017 have been announced. Among the winners was Maxine Beneba Clarke, tutor, in the poetry category for ‘Carrying the World’. Maxine will also be delivering the Hazel Rowley Memorial Lecture to conclude the Adelaide Writers’ Week Festival on 9 March as well as announcing the winner of the 2017 Fellowship.

The Australian Romance Readers Awards 2016 winners have been announced at the Australian Romance Readers Convention in Melbourne. Member and tutor Anne Gracie was named Favourite Australian Romance Author. This is Anne’s second win in this category as she also won it last year. She also took out awards for Favourite Historical Romance for ‘The Summer Bride’, Favourite Continuing Romance Series for ‘Chance Sisters’, Favourite Heroine from a romance published in 2016 for Daisy Chance in ‘The Summer Bride’ and Favourite Couple from a romance published in 2016 for Daisy and Flynn in in ‘The Summer Bride’.

The winners for the annual Margaret River Short Story Competition have been announced. Else Fitzgerald, member and former intern, took out second prize for her story ‘Sheen’.

Mark Brandi, member, was the winner of the Carve Magazine's (US) Premium Edition Prize for Non-Fiction. 

The Stella Prize, a major literary award that celebrates Australian women’s writing, has announced its 2017. On the list of 12 books is ‘The Hate Race’ by Maxine Beneba Clarke, tutor. The shortlist will be announced on 8 March and the winner at a ceremony in Melbourne on 18 April.