Our prize winners for December 2017

Monday, January 15, 2018
Sarah Vincent

A photo of a trophy

Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.


Collective celebrations

The Australian Society of Authors (ASA) has announced the winners of their 2018 Emerging Writers’ Mentorship Program. Among the winners are:

Adult fiction

  • Melissa Manning, member, for ‘South West’

YA fiction

  • Amelia Mellor, member, for ‘The Celestial Kris’


Leading Edge Books has announced the longlist for the 2018 Indie Book Awards for books published in 2017. Among the longlisted titles are:


  • ‘The Choke’ by Sofie Laguna, mentor and tutor
  • ‘City of Crows’ by Chris Womersley, tutor

Debut fiction

  • ‘Wimmera’ by Mark Brandi, member
  • ‘Australia Day’ by Melanie Cheng, member
  • ‘See What I Have Done’ by Sarah Schmidt, just lapsed member

Young adult

  • ‘Take Three Girls’ by Cath Crowley, member and assessor, Fiona Wood, member and tutor, and Simmone Howell, member
  • ‘Wilder Country’ by Mark Smith, member and tutor
  • ‘The Secret Science of Magic’ by Melissa Keil, tutor


  • ‘The Very Noisy Baby’ by Alison Lester, tutor
  • ‘Polly and Buster: The Wayward Witch and the Feelings Monster’ by Sally Rippin, tutor


The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2018 shortlists have been announced. Among the shortlisted titles are:


  • ‘A New England Affair’ by Steven Carroll, tutor
  • ‘Australia Day’ by Melanie Cheng, member
  • ‘The Choke’ by Sofie Laguna, mentor and tutor


  • ‘Anaesthesia: The Gift of Oblivion and the Mystery of Consciousness’ by Kate Cole-Adams, member
  • ‘No Way But This: In Search of Paul Robeson’ by Jeff Sparrow, tutor


  • ‘Argosy’ by Bella Li, tutor

Young adult

  • ‘Living on Hope Street’ by Demet Divaroren, tutor and member


  • ‘Rice’ by Michele Lee, tutor


Individual celebrations

Amelia Mellor, member, has been awarded the The May Gibbs Children’s Literature Trust Ian Wilson Memorial Fellowship. Named for the founder of the Trust, this fellowship is open to Australian citizens, writing specifically Australian stories for readers under eighteen years. It’s only open to works in progress by writers who aren’t yet published as children’s writers.

The Winners have been announced for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2017. Member and manuscript assessor Cath Crowley won the Young adult fiction category withWords in Deep Blue’.

Trish Bolton, member, has had her crime fiction manuscript 'Stuck' longlisted for the UK 2017 Flash 500 Novel Competition.