Our Prize Winners for August 2018

Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.

Collective Celebrations


The winners of this year’s Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards have been announced.

The winning titles in each of the categories are:

Older Readers (winner): 

  • Members and tutors, Cath Crowley, Fiona Wood and Simmone Howell for ‘Take Three Girls’

Young Readers (honour books):                                   

  • Martine Murray, member, for 'Henrietta and the Perfect Night'

Early childhood (honour books):   

  • Alison Lester, tutor, for The Very Noisy Baby

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books (honour books)   

  • Lorna Hendry, member and tutor, for 'Left & Right'


Readings has announced the shortlist for its 2018 New Australian Fiction Award.

Among the shortlisted titles are:

  • Jennifer Down, tutor, for 'Pulse Points'.
  • Moreno Giovannoni, member, for 'The Fireflies of Autumn'


The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced the winners for this year’s Ned Kelly Awards for Australian crime writing.

Among the winners are:

The Best Crime Novel

  • Sulari Gentill, tutor, for 'Crossing the Lines'


The winners of the Brotherhood of St Laurence’s 2018 Hope Prize for short stories have been announced.

Among the winners are:

  • Alice Bishop, member, for ‘Saltwater’
  • Vicky Daddo, tutor, for ‘Run’.


The longlist for the 2018 Waverley Library Award for Literature, known as ‘the Nib’, has been announced.

Among the longlist are:

  • Bram Presser, member, for 'The Book of Dirt'
  • Jill Giese, member, for 'The Maddest Place on Earth'


Individual Celebrations

Garry Disher was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Ned Kelly Awards for his ‘outstanding contribution to Australian crime fiction, using his characters to explore and expose Australian culture’.