Our prize winners for April 2017

Monday, May 1, 2017
Sarah Vincent

Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.

Collective celebrations

The Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Shortlist for 2017 have been announced, with the winners to be named later this year. Among the shortlist are:

  • Book of the Year: Older Readers
    • Cath Crowley, assessor and member, for ‘Words in Deep Blue’
    • Zana Fraillon, tutor, for ‘The Bone Sparrow’
    • Shivaun Plozza, manuscript assessor, tutor and member for ‘Frankie’
  • Book of the Year: Younger Readers
    • Bruce Pascoe, tutor, for ‘Mrs Whitlam’
  • Picture Book of the Year
    • Maxine Beneba Clarke, tutor, for ‘The Patchwork Bike’
    • The Eve Pownall Award for Information Books
    • Lorna Hendry, tutor, The Gigantic Book of Genes

The winner for The 2017 Indie Book Awards has been announced. The Awards were established in 2008 with the aim of creating a unique award recognising and rewarding the best Australian writing as chosen by Australian Independent Booksellers. Among the winners are:

  • Nonfiction
    • Helen Garner, tutor, for ‘Everywhere I Look’
  • Young Adult
    • Cath Crowley, member and manuscript assessor for ‘Words in Deep Blue’
    • Amie Kaufman, tutor, for ‘Gemina’ (with Jay Kristoff)
    • Mark Smith, member, for ‘The Road to Winter’

Four Australians are among the 21 writers shortlisted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2017. The top 21 were chosen from out of almost 6,000 entries from 49 Commonwealth countries. The prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction between 2,000 and 5,000 words. The prize covers the Commonwealth regions of Africa; Asia; Canada and Europe; the Caribbean; and Pacific. The regional winners will receive £2500 (A$4110) each. The overall winner, announced in September, will receive £5000 (A$8215). Among the shortlisted Australian writers and their works are:

  • Chloe Wilson, member, for ‘Harbour’
  • Myfanwy McDonald, member, for ‘Numb’

The shortlists for the 2017 Reading & Enjoying Australian Literature (REAL) Awards, which act as shortlists for children’s choice book awards in New South Wales (KOALAs), Northern Territory (KROC Awards) and Victoria (YABBAs), have been announced. Among the shortlisted writers are:

  • Picture storybooks
    • ‘Mr Chicken Arriva a Roma’ by Leigh Hobbs, tutor
  • Fiction for younger readers
    • ‘Billie B Brown: The Bad Butterfly’ by Sally Rippin, tutor
    • ‘Ella Diaries: Friendship S.O.S’ by Meredith Costain, tutor
    • ‘You Choose: Alien Invaders from beyond the Stars’ by George Ivanoff, member
  • Fiction for older readers
    • ‘Our Australian Girl: Rose in Bloom’ by Sherryl Clark, manuscript assessor
  • Fiction for years 7-9
    • ‘Laurinda’ by Alice Pung, tutor

The winners of the 2016 Aurealis Awards for the best science-fiction, fantasy and horror writing in Australia have been announced. Among the winners are:

  • Best Young Adult Novel
    • ‘Lady Helen and the Dark Days Pact’ by Alison Goodman, tutor
  • Best Science Fiction Novel
    • ‘Gemima: Illuminae Files 2’ by Amie Kaufman, tutor (with Jay Kristoff)

The Wheeler Centre 2017 Hot Desk Fellowships have been announced. The fellows each receive $1000 and a desk at the Wheeler Centre for two months. The writing fellowships are supported by the Readings Foundation. Among the recipients are:

  • Ingrid Baring, member and COM member
  • Koraly Dimitriadis, member and tutor
  • Angela Serrano, member
  • Lorelei Vashti, tutor

The shortlist for the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2017 has been announced. The winners will be announced at the beginning of the Sydney Writers’ Festival on 22 May. On the list are:

  • UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing  
    • ‘Our Magic Hour’ by Jennifer Down, member
  • Douglas Stewart Prize for Nonfiction
    • ‘Everywhere I Look’ by Helen Garner, tutor
    • Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature
    • ‘Iris and the Tiger’ by Leanne Hall, tutor
  • Ethel Turner Prize for Young Adult’s Literature
    • ‘The Boundless Sublime’ by Lili Wilkinson, tutor
  • Multicultural NSW Award
    • ‘The Hate Race’ by Maxine Beneba Clarke, tutor
    • ‘The Fighter: A True Story’ by Arnold Zable, Life Member and tutor

Individual celebrations

Marija Peričić, member, has won the 2017 Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award for ‘The Lost Pages’, a fictional memoir of Czech writer Max Brod. ‘The Lost Pages’ is set in Prague in 1908, where Brod is ‘the rising star of Prague’s literary world’ before a rival, Franz Kafka, appears on the scene. ‘‘The Lost Pages’ is a richly imagined story of the friendship, fraud, jealousy and betrayal within an extraordinary literary rivalry,’ said Allen & Unwin, which published the book on 27 April.

The Emerging Writers’ Festival (EWF) has announced the writers appointed ambassadors for EWF’s National Writers’ Conference, which runs from 17-18 June. Among the five ambassadors is Anna Krien, tutor.

The recipients of Varuna’s 2017 Publisher Introduction Program have been announced. The program offers writers a one-week residency at Varuna and the opportunity to have their manuscript considered for publication by a publisher. Among the writers whose work will be considered is Anne Hotta member, for her collection of short stories ‘Mending Heart’, set in Australia and Japan, in which ‘the protagonists struggle to overcome their dilemmas’. UWA Publishing will be considering Anne’s manuscript.

The Independent Publisher Book (IPPY) Awards have just been announced and Jan Worthington, member, was awarded a Bronze Medal in the National, Regional – Europe Non-fiction category for ‘Scholarly Scoundrel, Laurence Hynes Halloran, Fake, Forger, Father & Pioneer Headmaster’, published by Halstead Press, Sydney in 2016.

The shortlist for the 2017 Australian Literature Society (ALS) Gold Medal has been announced. Among the six shortlisted titles is ‘The Easy Way Out’ by Steven Amsterdam, tutor. The winner will be announced on the opening night of the 2017 Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL) conference in July. The ALS Gold Medal is awarded annually by ASAL for a ‘work of outstanding literary merit’ published in the previous calendar year.