Anna Fern wins poetry cup

Saturday, August 14, 2010
Writers Victoria

Photograph of a golden cup

Congratulations go to Anna Fern who is the winning poet of the 2010 Doris Leadbetter Poetry Cup receiving the mega prize of $2000.

Other wonderful poets to note are Luka Haralampou as runner up receiving $300, and Bronwyn Lovell and Sharne Vate who received the encouragement awards of $100 each.

Special thanks go to: – Our judges, Grant Caldwell, Katherine Gallagher and Ania Walwicz who had a hectic task choosing from an eclectic array of 40 performances – Doris Leadbetter patrons, Pam Davison and Ron Smooker who kindly donated the prize money – The great team of the Australian Poetry Centre and Overload Poetry Festival who partnered this event – Michael Nolan as the spectacular Master of Ceremonies – and all the event volunteer staff.

It was a great night had by all. Watch our website for the winning poems to be posted soon.