2009 Premier's Literary Awards winners

Friday, September 4, 2009

Announced on Tuesday 1 September, the Victorian Premier's Literary Awards celebrate and support creative writing and publishing in Victoria and Australia.

Winners include:

  • Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction – The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas
  • Nettie Palmer Prize for Non-fiction – The Tall Man: Death and Life on Palm Island by Chloe Hooper
  • CJ Dennis Prize for Poetry – The Golden Bird by Robert Adamson
  • Louis Esson Prize for Drama – Goodbye Vaudeville Charlie Mudd by Lally Katz
  • Prize for Young Adult Fiction – Something in the World Called Love by Sue Saliba
  • Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript by an Emerging Victorian Writer – “Sufficient Grace” by Amy Espeseth.