#WVMemberBooks

Thursday, September 3, 2020
By: 
Writers Victoria

It's a particularly tough time for writers who have had new books released, with the cancellation of book launches, author tours, and other appearances such as writers festivals. Writers Victoria is helping to get the word out about books published by our members during this time with our #WVMemberBooks initiative – we're posting these books on our social media channels and here with information about the books and links through to where you can buy them to support the author. Visit this page for regular updates and additions to our #WVMemberBooks list, and if you'd like us to feature your book here, get in touch.

 


Oleanders are Poisonous & Magnolias Don’t Die, by AJ Collins


A poignant tale about growing up too fast,forgiving too slowly, and the healing power of love, friendship, and family – however it comes.

Oleanders are Poisonous is a mature YA coming-of-age story filled with heartbreak, laughter and poignancy, unafraid to address the sometimes gut-wrenching complexities of growing up.

Magnolias Don't Die is a devastatingly honest YA+ novel that explores the casual sexism and harassment young women face every day, and how essential it is to speak up and find support when dealing with teen trauma.

AJ Collins is a Melbourne based fiction author. A recipient of first prize and several commendations for the Monash WordFest awards, AJ has been published in various short story anthologies and magazines and was awarded a place at Hardcopy 2018 in Canberra, a national professional development program for writers.

To purchase a copy of Oleanders are Poisonous and Magnolias Don't Die, visit AJ Collins' website.

 


That Night In Paris, by Sandy Barker
 


Discover the beauty of Europe's most romantic cities in this uplifting and laugh-out-loud novel for fans of Samantha Parks, Alex Brown and Mandy Baggot.

Note to self: don't sleep with your flatmate after a curry and three bottles of wine… especially if he's secretly in love with you and wants you to meet his mum.

Cat Parsons is on the run. She doesn't do relationships. After ten years of singlehood even the hint of the ‘L' word is enough to get Cat packing her bags and booking herself onto a two-week holiday. A European bus tour feels like a stroke of genius to dodge awkward conversations at home. But little does Cat realise that the first stop will be Paris, the city of love itself. Joined by new friends, Cat has got two weeks, eight countries and a hell of a lot of wine ahead of her. As they discover hidden treasures and the camaraderie of life on the road, will Cat find a new way of looking at love?

Sandy Barker is an Australian writer, traveller and hopeful romantic with a lengthy bucket list and a cheeky sense of humour. Many of Sandy's travel adventures have found homes in her writing, including her debut novel, a contemporary romance set in Greece, which was inspired by her true-life love story. Visit her online at sandybarker.com.

To purchase a copy of That Night In Paris, visit HarperCollins Australiavisit your local bookstore in person or online, or order via an Australian owned & run online seller like Booktopia.

 


In My Dreams, by Stef Gemmill
 


A magical tale to delight all ages.

A child’s imagination takes him on a fantastic dream journey as he sleeps at night. He finds fruit flavoured rainbows, makes mischief with monkeys, flies his dragon to faraway places and chases the night shadows away.

Stef Gemmill is the author of several picture books including ‘A Home For Luna’ and ‘In My Dreams’ and continues to write imaginative and topical stories of peril and hope with heart. Visit her online at https://www.stefgemmill.com/

To purchase a copy of In My Dreams, visit New Frontier Publishingvisit your local bookstore in person or online, or order via an Australian owned & run online seller like Booktopia.

 


Repo Virtual, by Corey J. White
 


Corey J. White’s debut novel Repo Virtual blurs the lines between the real and virtual in an action-packed cyberpunk heist story.

The city of Neo Songdo is a Russian doll of realities — augmented and virtual spaces anchored in the weight of the real. The smart city is designed to be read by machine vision while people see only the augmented facade of the corporate ideal. At night the stars are obscured by an intergalactic virtual war being waged by millions of players, while on the streets below people are forced to beg, steal, and hustle to survive.
Enter Julius Dax, online repoman and real-life thief. He’s been hired for a special job: stealing an unknown object from a reclusive tech billionaire. But when he finds out he’s stolen the first sentient AI, his payday gets a lot more complicated.

Corey J. White is the author of Repo Virtual and The VoidWitch SagaKilling Gravity, Void Black Shadow, and Static Ruin – published by Tor.com Publishing. He studied writing at Griffith University on the Gold Coast, and is now based in Melbourne, Australia. Find him on twitter at @cjwhite or on instagram at @coreyj.white.


To purchase a copy of Repo Vitual, visit Tor.comvisit your local bookstore in person or online, or order via an Australian owned & run online seller like Booktopia.

 


Where the Truth Lies, by Karina Kilmore
 

Shortlisted for a Ned Kelly Award and the prestigious Unpublished Manuscript Award in the 2017 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards.

When investigative journalist Chrissie O’Brian lands a senior job at The Argus, she is desperate to escape the nightmares of her past. Her life has become a daily battle to numb the pain. But her job is something she can do better than anyone else – and the only thing that keeps the memories at bay.
A face-off on the waterfront between the unions and big business is just the kind of story to get her career back on track. But after a dockworker who confided in her turns up dead, Chrissie becomes obsessed with unravelling the truth. When a gruesome threat lands on her desk, it's clear someone is prepared to do anything to stop her.
But who is more dangerous – a ruthless enemy or a woman pushed to the edge? Used to fighting her own demons, this is one battle Chrissie is determined not to lose.

Karina Kilmore is a writer and newspaper journalist with more than 30 years’ experience. She covered almost every major business scandal and financial event since the 1987 global share market crash and has written for US, UK, Australian and New Zealand publications. She is working on her second book.

For more information, visit Simon and Schuster's website. You can follow Karina on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter, and visit her author website.


To purchase a copy of Where the Truth Lies, visit Simon and Schustervisit your local bookstore in person or online, or order via an Australian owned & run online seller like Booktopia.

 


Money for Something, by Mia Walsch
 

A captivatingly honest memoir about surviving, sex work, friendships, drugs, mental illness and need.

When nineteen-year-old Mia is fired from her job at an insurance company, she makes the choice to answer an ad in the newspaper. The ad says: 'Erotic Massage. Good Money. No Sex.' Mia takes to her new job with recklessness, aplomb and good humour. Over the next few years, as she works her way through Sydney's many parlours, she meets exquisite and complex women from every walk of life who choose sex work for myriad reasons. While juggling the demands of her new job, she battles her problematic drug use, and the mental illness that has shaped her life. But rather than needing saving from sex work, it is the work that sometimes helps to save Mia from herself. This compelling memoir is not only told with raw honesty and grace, it also announces the arrival of a startlingly talented Australian writer.

Mia Walsch is an author from Melbourne, Australia. She studied Creative Writing at the University of Wollongong and has previously published three novels, the first of which won a Victorian Premier's Literary Award. This is her first non-fiction book.


For more information, visit Echo Publishing's website. You can follow Mia on Instagram and Twitter, and visit her author website.


To purchase a copy of Money for Something, visit Echo Publishingvisit your local bookstore in person or online, or order via an Australian owned & run online seller like Booktopia.

 


The Shifting Landscape, by Katherine Kovacic
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


⁣⁣
The third book in the Alex Clayton art mystery series (following ‘The Portrait of Molly Dean’ and ‘Painting in the Shadows’).

Art dealer Alex Clayton travels to Victoria’s Western District to value the McMillan family’s collection. At their historic sheep station, she finds an important and previously unknown colonial painting – and a family fraught with tension. When the family patriarch dies under mysterious circumstances and the painting is stolen, Alex decides to leave; then a toddler disappears and Alex’s faithful dog Hogarth goes missing. With fears rising for the safety of both child and hound, her attempts to unravel the McMillan family secrets have put Alex in danger, and she’s not the only one. Will the killer claim another victim? Or will the landscape reveal its mysteries to Alex in time? 

Katherine Kovacic is a former veterinarian turned art historian who works with a wide variety of museums, galleries and historic houses. She lives in Melbourne with a Borzoi and a Scottish Deerhound.⁣⁣⁣⁣

For more information, visit Echo Publishing's website. You can follow Katherine on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter, and visit her author website.


To purchase a copy of The Shifting Landscapevisit your local bookstore in person or online, or order via an Australian owned & run online seller like Booktopia.

 


 

How to Grow a Family Tree, by Eliza Henry Jones




From the author of P is for Pearl comes a heart-warming book about family, friendship and what home can mean.
Stella may only be seventeen, but having read every self-help book she can find means she knows a thing or two about helping people. She sure wasn't expecting to be the one in need of help, though.
Thanks to her father's gambling addiction, Stella and her family now find themselves living at Fairyland Caravan Park. And hiding this truth from her friends is hard enough without dealing with another secret. Stella's birth mother has sent her a letter.
As Stella deals with the chaos of her family, she must also confront the secrets and past of her 'other' family. But Stella is stronger than she realises.
 

Eliza Henry Jones is a freelance writer and novelist based on a little farm in the Yarra Valley in Victoria. She is the author of the novels In the Quiet (2015) and Ache (2017) and the young adult novels P is for Pearl (2018) and How to Grow a Family Tree (2020). Eliza's novels have been listed for multiple awards and she is currently a PhD candidate in creative writing at Deakin University.
 

"This engaging novel for young adults doesn't sugar-coat the difficult sides of life but it has substantial stretches of hope and beauty. It covers a lot of social ground, from such topics as adoption and financial trouble to the full awfulness of addiction [...] but the plot and characters are always paramount" – The Age


For more information, visit Harper Collins' website. You can follow Eliza on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.
 

To purchase a copy of How to Grow a Family Tree, visit your local bookstore in person or online, or order via an Australian owned & run online seller like Booktopia.