Deborah Cass Prize

Monday, July 27, 2015
Writers Victoria and the Deborah Cass Prize Committee

Photo of Deborah Cass

Each year, early career writers of migrant background are invited to apply for the Deborah Cass prize.

The prize is in the memory of Deborah Cass. The granddaughter of Jewish immigrants, Deborah Cass became a prize-winning professor of International Law at the London School of Economics. After diagnosis of cancer, Deborah left her academic career and focused on creative writing. She had a number of short fiction pieces published, but was unable to realise her aim to complete a novel. With generous support from family and friends, this prize aims to help someone outside the mainstream find a voice for themselves.

The winner receives a cash prize of $3,000 plus a three-month mentorship with an established writer. 

Read more about the Deborah Cass Prize at


2021 Prize: Key Dates

The shortlist for the 2021 Deborah Cass Prize has been announced.

The winner will be announced at an online event on Wednesday 17 November.


Past winners


Anith Mukherjee

Read Anith's prize winning story, 'I am full of love', at The Mascara Literary Review.


Janette Chen

Read Janette's prize winning story, 'Wall of Men', at The Mascara Literary Review.


Karina Ko

Read Karina's prize winning story, ‘Things I Used to Believe’, at The Mascara Literary Review.


Rafeif Ismail

Read Rafeif's prize winning story, 'Almitra Amongst Ghosts', at The Mascara Literary Review.


Jean Bachoura

Read Jean's prize winning story, 'Night Falls', on the Deborah Cass website.


Moreno Giovannoni

View Moreno's book, 'The Fireflies of Autumn', on publisher Black Inc.'s website.