Home » Our patron

Our patron

Writers Victoria Patron since 2017, Christos Tsiolkas is the author of six novels: ‘Loaded’, which was made into the feature film ‘Head-On’, ‘The Jesus Man’ and ‘Dead Europe’, which won the 2006 Age Fiction Prize and the 2006 Melbourne Best Writing Award. He won Overall Best Book in the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize 2009, was shortlisted for the 2009 Miles Franklin Literary Award, longlisted for the 2010 Man Booker Prize and won the Australian Literary Society Gold Medal for his novel, ‘The Slap’, which was also announced as the 2009 Australian Booksellers Association and Australian Book Industry Awards Books of the Year. His novel, ‘Barracuda’, was published in November 2013, and has received great critical acclaim.
His latest novel, ‘Damascus’, was published in 2019 and won the 2020 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Fiction.
Christos has been the recipient of numerous awards, including the Commonwealth Writers Prize (Pacific Region), the ASA medal and the NSW Premier’s Award, and was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize. His short story collection ‘Merciless Gods’, published in 2014, was short-listed for the Voss Literary Award 2015, and won the University of Southern Queensland Australian Short Story Collection – Steele Rudd Award 2015.
Christos is also a playwright, essayist and screen writer. He lives in Melbourne.



Scroll to Top