Our prize winners for February 2018

Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Sarah Vincent

A photo of a trophy

Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.


Collective celebrations


The Children’s Book Council of Australian (CBCA) has released its list of Notable Books for 2018. The Notable Books act as the longlist for the CBCA Book of the Year Awards.

Older readers category:

  • Cath Crowley, member and assessor, Fiona Wood, member and tutor, and Simmone Howell, member, for 'Take Three Girls'
  • Scot Gardner, member, for 'Sparrow'
  • Nicole Hayes, member, for 'A Shadow’s Breath'
  • Melissa Keil, tutor, for 'The Secret Science of Magic'
  • Michael Pryor, member and tutor, for 'Gap Year in Ghost Town'
  • Mark Smith, member and tutor, for 'Wilder Country'

Younger readers category:

  • Kelly Gardiner, member and tutor, for '1917'
  • Sally Rippin, tutor, for 'The Wayward Witch and the Feelings Monster'
  • Nova Weetman, member, for 'The Secrets We Share'

Early childhood category:

  • Alison Lester, tutor, for 'The Very Noisy Baby'
  • Lili Wilkinson, tutor, for 'That Christmas Feeling'

Picture book category:

  • Alison Lester, tutor, for 'The Very Noisy Baby'
  • Rachel Flynn, member and assessor, for 'Gus Dog Goes to Work'

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books category:

  • Lorna Hendry, member and tutor, for 'Left & Right'
  • Charles Hope, member, for 'The Big Book of Antarctica'
  • Kate Ryan, member, assessor and mentor, for 'My Contemporary Art Book' and for 'Van Gogh and The Seasons'.

The longlist for The 2018 Stella Prize has been announced. The Prize is presented for the best work of fiction or nonfiction by an Australian women published in the previous calendar year. Among this year’s longlisted titles are:

  • 'Anaesthesia: The Gift of Oblivion and the Mystery of Consciousness' by Kate Cole-Adams, member
  • 'The Green Bell: A Memoir of Love, Madness and Poetry' by Paula Keogh, member
  • 'An Uncertain Grace' by Krissy Kneen, tutor
  • 'The Choke' by Sofie Laguna, mentor and tutor.

Several Australian authors and illustrators have been named on the 2017 Locus Recommended Reading List, which serves as the voting ballot for the annual Locus Awards for science-fiction and fantasy writing. Australian-authored titles recommended on the list include:

  • Member and tutor Jane Rawson for 'From the Wreck' for science-fiction
  • Tutor Jack Dann for his collection 'Concentration'  for collections.

Varuna, the National Writers House, has announced the shortlist for their Publisher Introduction Program (PIP 2018). There were an amazing eight Writers Victoria members among the 25 writers' unpublished manuscripts selected to be sent to the leading Australian publishers involved in the program. The eight members and their manuscripts are:

  • 'Stuck' by Trish Bolton
  • 'Geordie' by Susan Coleridge
  • 'Confinement' by Sarah Nesbitt
  • 'The Skeleton Crew' by Andrew Swales
  • 'The All-Star Star Bazaar' by Warwick Sprawson
  • 'You are Here' by Anita Smith
  • 'Reclaiming the Kitchen' by Debra Wain
  • 'Resistance' by Bill Collopy.

The shortlists for the 2018 West Australian Young Readers’ Book Awards (WAYRBA) have been announced. On the shortlist are:

Younger readers:

  • 'The 91-Storey Treehouse' by tutor Andy Griffiths

Older readers:

  • 'Living on Hope Street' by member and tutor Demet Divaroren
  • 'Catch the Zolt' by member Phillip Gwynne

The finalists for The Aurealis Awards 2017 have been announced. Among the finalists are:

Best science-fiction novel:

  • Sally Abbott, member, for ‘Closing Down’
  • Krissy Kneen, tutor, for ‘An Uncertain Grace’
  • Jane Rawson, member and tutor, for ‘From the Wreck’

Best fantasy novel:

  • Michael Pryor, member and tutor, for ‘Gap Year in Ghost Town’

Best horror novel:

  • Lois Murphy, member, for ‘Soon'

Best collection:

  • Deborah Sheldon, member, for ‘Perfect Little Stitches and Other Stories’

Best fantasy short story:

  • Lili Wilkinson, tutor, for ‘Oona Underground’ in 'Begin, End, Begin: A #LoveOzYA Anthology'.


Individual celebrations

The shortlist for Overland’s Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize for travel-themed short fiction has been announced. Among the 13 shortlisted entries is ‘Seismophobia’ by member Jenny Sinclair.

Gabriella Munoz has been announced as Writers Victoria’s inaugural digital writer in residence.

The recipients of the University of Melbourne’s Asialink Arts Exchanges Program for 2018 have been announced. Among the writers receiving residencies in Asian countries is current member and our former Director, Kate Larsen, who will be travelling to Malaysia for her residency.

Former staff member Bronwyn Lovell is on the shortlist for the ‘Overland’ poetry prize 2017 for her poem for ‘Moon’.