Our prize winners for November 2017

Monday, December 4, 2017
Sarah Vincent

Welcome to our monthly brag about our Writers Victoria community members who have won awards, been shortlisted or longlisted for writing prizes or received industry recognition.

Collective celebrations

The 24th Scarlet Stiletto Short Story Awards were presented on November 18. This year 186 stories competed for the $8,600 in prize money plus the scarlet stiletto trophy. Among the winners in the different categories were:

  • Narrelle M Harris, member, winner of The Athenaeum Library’s Body in the Library Prize for 'Jane'
  • Rachel Smith, member, winner of The Financial Crime Award for 'A Gift of Thoth'
  • Highly commended: Kathy Childs, member, for 'Uncle Milo’s Legacy'; Gabrielle Gardner, member for 'Timberrrr!'; Joanne Mujic, member for 'Clean Slate'; Sandi Wallace, member for two stories, 'Gun Oil, Bacon and Bleach' and 'The Witness'.

The shortlist for The Deborah Cass Prize has been announced. On the list are:

  • Antonella Fedele, member, for The Good Immigrants’ (Italy)
  • Mary Manias, member, ‘The Journey Home’ (Fiji)
  • Fatima Sehbai, member, ‘Mithu and Sakhina’ (Pakistan).

The longlist for The 2018 International Dublin Literary Awad has been announced, On the list are:

  • Anita Heiss, tutor, for ‘Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms’
  • Toni Jordan, tutor and member for ‘Our Tiny, Useless Hearts’.

The shortlist for The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2017 has been announced. The winners will be announced in December. On the list are:

  • Steven Amsterdam, tutor, in the Fiction category forThe Easy Way Out’
  • Cath Crowley, assessor, in the Young adult fiction category forWords in Deep Blue’.

‘Overland’ literary journal has announced the shortlist for The Fair Australia Prize 2017. On the list are:

  • Bronwyn Lovell, former staff member, in the Poetry section for her poem ‘Commonwealth’
  • Else Fitzgerald, former intern, in the fiction section for her short story ‘Felidae’.

Individual celebrations

‘Anaesthesia: The Gift of Oblivion and the Mystery of Consciousnes’ by Melbourne journalist Kate Cole-Adams, member, has won the Waverley Council’s Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award for 2017.

The winners of the 2017 Kids Reading Oz Choice (KROC) Awards, the children’s choice book awards for the Northern Territory, have been announced. Andy Griffiths, tutor, won the category of Fiction for older readers with ‘The 78-storey treehouse’. The same book also won the Younger Reader category in The BILBY Awards 2017,  the Children's Choice Awards organised by The Children's Book Council of Australia (Queensland Branch).

The Bridport Prize 2017 winners have been announced. Highly Commended in the Flash Fiction Category is Michelle Wright, member, for her pieceAbsence’.

Garry Disher, member, is on the Shortlist for BBC Audio Drama Award for ‘The Dragon Man’.

The New Zealand Book Awards 2018 longlist has been announced. On the list is Helen Brown, member, for ‘Tāngata Ngāi Tahu: People of Ngāi Tahu’.

Tony Birch, Tutor, has won the 2017 Patrick White Award. This annual award was established by Patrick White with his 1973 Nobel Prize in Literature award prize-money. It is given to a writer who has been highly creative over a long period but has not necessarily received adequate recognition.