Winter School: Building Emotional Resonance

This event is currently full. However you can register now and get added to a waiting list. You will be notified if spaces become available.
 Registration is closed for this event

Kate Cuthbert
19 July 2018 - 10:00 to 4:00 PM
Kate Cuthbert
Emerging
A great plot, exotic setting, fantastic ideas – they all mean nothing if your reader doesn’t deeply feel all of the emotions in your story.

This full day course will teach tips, styles, and techniques to build emotional resonance into any story.

You will learn

  • how to fully develop characters
  • how to use different narrative techniques
  • different points-of-view: the who, how, and why
  • how to identify and correct areas of ‘telling, not showing’
  • how to build emotional tension and intensity into a manuscript.

About Kate Cuthbert

Kate Cuthbert is Managing Editor of Escape Publishing, Harlequin Australia's digital-first imprint. She is also an award-winning book reviewer and critic, a genre fiction advocate, and an in-demand moderator, presenter and teacher. She is currently pursuing a PhD examining rural settings in Australian popular fiction.

Read more about our other Winter School workshops:

Winter School: The Novel of Ideas, Monday 16 July

Winter School: Voice and Point of View, Tuesday 17 July

Winter School: Writing for the Education Market, Wednesday 18 July

Winter School: Problem Solving in Literary Fiction, Friday 20 July

Winter School: The Body, Writing, Saturday 21 July

Winter School: Finding the Loose Brick – Writer’s Block, Sunday 22 July

Winter School: Writing Grief and Trauma, Monday 23 July

Winter School: Who, What and Why – The Plotting Triangle, Tuesday 24 July

Winter School: Poetic Voice Masterclass, Wednesday 25 July

Winter School: Writing Long-Form Journalism, Thursday 26 July

Winter School: Making Social Media Work, Friday 27 July

Winter School: Series Fiction for Children, Saturday 28 July

Winter School: Writing the Self in Creative Non-Fiction, Sunday 29 July

 


176 Little Lonsdale Street
Melbourne, 3000-3000
Australia

Phone: 390947855
Email:
Event registration fee
Concession member $ 135.00
Member $ 145.00
Non-member $ 195.00
Donation

Help spread the word

Please help us and let your friends, colleagues and followers know about our page: Winter School: Building Emotional Resonance


You can also share the below link in an email or on your website.
https://writersvictoria.org.au/civicrm/event/info?id=424&reset=1