Winter School: Writing for the Education Market

 Registration is closed for this event

George Ivanoff
18 July 2018 - 10:00 to 4:00 PM
George Ivanoff
Emerging
The primary school education market, an often-ignored area of publishing, can be a great pathway into the children’s writing industry.

Secondary school text books are specialised and written by experts in the relevant field but primary school publications (school readers, primary school non-fiction books, chapter books linked to the Australia curriculum and other educational resources) are a great opportunity for children’s writers. Writing for the education market is quite different to writing for the trade.

You will learn

  • the scope of the education market
  • the requirements of the education market
  • the do’s and don’ts of writing for the education market
  • how to respond to and follow guidelines
  • how to get your foot in the door.

About George Ivanoff

George Ivanoff is a Melbourne children’s author with more than 100 titles under his belt. Although best known for his ‘You Choose’ and ‘Other Worlds’ book series, he has written extensively for the education market. He’s won a few awards, including a YABBA, and has books on the Victorian Premier’s Reading Challenge booklists. Check out his website: http://georgeivanoff.com.au

Read more about our other Winter School workshops:

Winter School: The Novel of Ideas, Monday 16 July

Winter School: Voice and Point of View, Tuesday 17 July

Winter School: Building Emotional Resonance, Thursday 19 July

Winter School: Problem Solving in Literary Fiction, Friday 20 July

Winter School: The Body, Writing, Saturday 21 July

Winter School: Finding the Loose Brick – Writer’s Block, Sunday 22 July

Winter School: Writing Grief and Trauma, Monday 23 July

Winter School: Who, What and Why – The Plotting Triangle, Tuesday 24 July

Winter School: Poetic Voice Masterclass, Wednesday 25 July

Winter School: Writing Long-Form Journalism, Thursday 26 July

Winter School: Making Social Media Work, Friday 27 July

Winter School: Series Fiction for Children, Saturday 28 July

Winter School: Writing the Self in Creative Non-Fiction, Sunday 29 July

 

Event registration fee
Concession member $ 135.00
Member $ 145.00
Non-member $ 195.00
Donation

Help spread the word

Please help us and let your friends, colleagues and followers know about our page: Winter School: Writing for the Education Market


You can also share the below link in an email or on your website.
https://writersvictoria.org.au/civicrm/event/info?id=423&reset=1