Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » Walkley Book Award

Walkley Book Award

Date: Tue August 31 2021 12:00 am to Tue August 31 2021 11:59 pm

Entries open now!

First round entries close Friday June 11

The Walkley Book Award celebrates the value and importance of long-form journalism, acknowledging the proud line-up of Australian writers who have taken subjects of enduring topicality and consequence from news bulletins, eye-witness reporting, investigations and historical records and provided readers with expanded factual detail, revelation and greater clarity of analysis in book form.

The 2021 Walkley Book Award acknowledges the work produced by an Australian journalist or writer, published in the year from September 1, 2020 to August 31, 2021.

Entries can encompass subject matter including true crime and biographies through to political analysis, business writing, war reporting, investigative journalism and foreign correspondence.



Judging is a two-tier process comprising senior representatives from within the media and publishing community. Judges will determine a long list and shortlist of nominees prior to the announcement of winners at the 66th Walkley Awards on November 19, 2021.

Entries must include:

  • Completed online form, including synopsis and supporting statement
  • Six (6) x hard copies of the book once the online form is complete
  • Payment of $260 if a non-member of MEAA
  • Entry form/s signed by the author and publisher

For information on the Walkley Book Award please contact awards manager Lauren Dixon on 0413 212 890 or lauren.dixon@walkleys.com

Entries for the 2021 Walkley Book Award will open on Monday, May 10. First-round entries close at 5 pm on Friday, June 11, 2021, and second round entries close at 5 pm on Tuesday, August 31, 2021.

Scroll to Top