Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award

The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award

Date: Tue March 1 2022 9:00 am to Tue May 31 2022 5:00 pm

The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award is one of Australia’s richest and the most prestigious award for an unpublished manuscript by a writer under the age of thirty-five. Offering prize money of $20,000 plus publication by Allen & Unwin with an advance against royalties, The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award has launched the careers of some of Australia’s most successful writers, including Tim Winton, Kate Grenville, Gillian Mears, Brian Castro, Mandy Sayer and Andrew McGahan.

The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award-winning authors have gone on to win or be shortlisted for other major awards, such as the Miles Franklin Award, the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize and the Booker Prize.

Entries for the 2023 Award are now open.

  • Entrants must be aged under 35 years of age on 31 May 2022 (that is born after 31 May 1987).
  • Entries must be lodged by 31 May 2022.
  • Entrants must be Australian citizens or permanent residents.
  • The manuscript submitted with the entry form should be a work of fiction, Australian history or biography.
  • It must be a minimum length of 50,000 words and a maximum of 80,000 words.
  • The manuscript must be an original work, entirely by the entrant and it must be written in English.

For more information, visit the Allen & Unwin website at https://www.allenandunwin.com/being-a-writer/the-australian-vogel-s-literary-award

Scroll to Top