Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards

Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards

Date: Tue September 11 2018 10:00 am to Tue October 2 2018 4:59 pm

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour literary achievement by Australian writers. The awards are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

The winners of the main suite of awards – fiction, non-fiction, drama, poetry, writing for young adults, and the biennial Award for Indigenous Writing – each receive $25,000. The winner of the Award for an Unpublished Manuscript receives $15,000.

The winners of the seven award categories go on to contest the overall Victorian Prize for Literature, worth an additional $100,000. This is the single most valuable literary award in the country.

Nominations are now open; the entry form found here. 

Scroll to Top