Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » The Tasmanian Writers’ Prize 2023

The Tasmanian Writers’ Prize 2023

Date: Thu December 1 2022 9:00 am to Tue February 14 2023 5:00 pm

Entries close February 14, 2023

The prize is for short stories up to 3,000 words having an island, or island-resonant, theme.

The winning entry receives a cash prize of $500.

A selection of the best entries will be published in the Forty South Short Story Anthology 2023.

How to Enter:

1. Read the Terms and Conditions

2. Buy your entry via the online bookshop

3. Submit your entry via the electronic form

Judges for the 2023 Tasmanian Writers’ Prize are:

Amanda Lohrey lives in Tasmania and writes fiction and non-fiction. She is a regular contributor to The Monthly magazine and is a former Senior Fellow of the Literature Board of the Australia Council. Her novel Camille’s Bread (HarperCollins, 1996) was shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award, the Colin Roderick Award, the NSW Premier’s Prize for Fiction and the Commonwealth Writer’s Award Regional Prize. It won the ALS Gold Medal and the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction. Reading Madame Bovary, a collection of short stories, won the 2011 Steele Rudd Award for short stories as well as the 2011 Queensland Premier’s Award for Fiction. Amanda received the Patrick White Award for literature in 2012. Her 2020 novel The Labyrinth won the 2021 Miles Franklin Award, the Voss Award for fiction and the Prime Minister’s Award for fiction. In 2022 Melbourne University Press published a critical study of her work, Lohrey, by Dr Julieanne Lamond of the ANU.

Mallika Naguran has been concocting stories and crafting poems since she was a child. She Never Looks Quite Back is her first collection of short stories published by Penguin Random House SEA in December 2021. The stories depict themes of nature, war, migration, reconciliation, the pandemic and love. It made the Singapore Literature Prize 2022 short list. Mallika has also retold Asian and Western classics, including Ramayana: The Quest to Rescue Sita and Peter Pan, for the POP! Lit for Kids series (WS Education, 2021). She is currently working on another volume of short stories, a poetry series on Tasmania, and two novels. Mallika is the founder of Gaia Discovery (gaiadiscovery.com), an online publication on sustainable living.

Rayne Allinson is a writer and teacher with a PhD in History from the University of Oxford. She is the author of A Monarchy of Letters: Royal correspondence and English diplomacy in the reign of Elizabeth I (2012) and is a regular contributor to Forty South Tasmania. She has worked and travelled in many parts of the northern hemisphere, but is now based in southern Tasmania. In early 2022 she took up a position as Assistant Publisher at Forty South Publishing. Rayne also runs the Reading Group at Fullers Bookshop.

For more information and to enter, visit the Forty South website here.

Scroll to Top