Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » The Scarlet Stiletto Awards: Women’s Crime and Mystery Short Story Competition

The Scarlet Stiletto Awards: Women’s Crime and Mystery Short Story Competition

Date: Mon June 15 2020 12:00 am to Mon August 31 2020 11:59 pm

Sisters In Crime

The idea for a national award for short stories, written by Australian women and featuring a strong female protagonist, was cooked up over a few glasses of wine in 1994 at a convenors’ meeting in St Kilda, Victoria. The purpose was to support and unearth new talent.

This has been achieved in spades.

In the 27 years to 2020, 3655 stories have been entered with 28 Scarlet Stiletto Award winners – including category winners – going on to have novels published: Cate Kennedy, Tara Moss, Annie Hauxwell, Angela Savage, Josephine Pennicott, Ellie Marney, Sarah Evans, Inga Simpson, Alex Palmer, Liz Filleul, Margaret Bevege, Patricia Bernard, Bronwen Blake, Jo McGahey, Cheryl Jorgensen, Kylie Fox, Simmone Howell, Emilie Collyer, Sandi Wallace, Aoife CliffordAmanda Wrangles, Lois Murphy, Janis Spehr,  T J Hamilton, Dawn Farnham, Natalie Conyer, Fin J. Ross  and Anna Snoekstra.

The winners – from all walks of life – have been librarians, editors, teachers, union officials, journalists, public servants, psychologists, investigators, hair-dressers, exercise instructors, mothers and retirees, medical autopsy specialists, cattery managers and even a few full-time writers.  Amazingly, five women have won the First Prize (and Scarlet Stiletto trophy) twice.

When Cate Kennedy won the inaugural Scarlet Stiletto Award in 1994 she admitted to learning an important lesson. After labouring for weeks on her entry, she then quickly knocked off a second story – just for fun; and entered both. She said: ‘I had to make sure I didn’t go away thinking, “God, that was like the dentist, never again”.’

It was that second story that won First Prize; although her first-written one was commended.

Cate took out First Prize again in 1995, and a second entry of hers won Third Prize. With such talent already showing its colours, Sisters in Crime’s convenors decided on a ‘two strikes and you’re out’ rule – to give other (new) women writers a chance to shine.

It’s now become the goal of every shoe winner to earn their ‘pair’ (though to date only Cate Kennedy has a matching pair). Two-time shoe winners are invited to become judges of the competition.

Eleven collections of winning stories have been published by Clan Destine PressScarlet Stiletto: The First Cut and Scarlet Stiletto: The Second Cut are available in hard-copy form. Click here to purchase.

Guest presenters of the awards are usually actors from Australian TV crime shows and have included Essie Davis, Marta Dusseldorf, Danielle Cormack, Sigrid Thornton, Noni Hazlehurst, Debra Lee-Furness, Catherine McClements, Nadine Garner, Nicole da Silva, Kate Atkinson, Geraldine Hakewill and Danielle McCormack.

(For background information, read Angela Savage’s essay, Red Shoes, written to commemorate the Scarlet Stiletto Awards 20th anniversary in 2013.)

Click here for the results of the 2019 awards presented by Geraldine Hakewill (the full script is attached).

The 27th Scarlet Stiletto Awards close on 31 August 2020. $10,460 in prize is on offer.
Maximum length: 5000 words

Below is the 2020 entry form. Please make sure you read the FAQs.

Note: Due the pandemic and the possibility that the judges may not be able to meet in person for a weekend as they usually do, entrants are being asked to submit both a hard copy and a pdf of each story.

Scarlet Stiletto-entry-FAQs-2020-v2S

Scarlet Stiletto-entry-FAQs_2020-v2_printer friendly

Info: Carmel Shute, Secretary, Sisters in Crime admin@sistersincrime.org.au; 0412 569 356


Scroll to Top