Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » The Olga Masters Short Story Award

The Olga Masters Short Story Award

Date: Mon June 8 2020 12:00 am to Fri July 10 2020 11:59 pm

2020 brings exciting news to the Olga Masters Short Story Award, with the continued support of the Masters family, the Award is now administered by South East Arts, in partnership with The South Coast Writers Centre, and Island Magazine. Additionally, with support from local author JD Shaw, there is now a new youth prize.

The Award welcomes entries from writers of all ages resident in Australia. Short stories (2000 to 4000 words) on the theme of life in rural Australia.

Who can enter?
We welcome entries from writers resident in Australia, of all ages.

What does it cost to enter a story?
Each entry must be accompanied by an entry fee of $25 (includes GST).
 Members of the South Coast Writers Centre and youth (18 years and under) are eligible for a discounted entry fee.

How to enter
Register online through the Olga Masters Short Story Award page and pay the entry fee. Stories must be submitted online.

Entries should be text documents (MS Word, Open Office, TXT or RTF) or PDF. Format the text with 1.5 line spacing and in 12 pt Times Roman or similar. Include the story title in the file name. Please make sure that your file name does not contain any apostrophes or other symbols as your file will not upload (don’t worry if your story title contains apostrophes – we will be able to match it with your details later).

The author’s name must not appear in the document or in the name of the digital file.

Entrants will receive email confirmation of receipt.

We will be closing the online entry form at midnight on 10 July 2020.

We will not accept entries by email or post.

Terms and conditions
Entries must be a single story of 2000 to 4000 words, written in English, with the theme of life in rural Australia.

Multiple entries are permitted. Each entry must be accompanied by a $25 (incl. GST) payment.

Entries must be original works written by an individual author.

Entries must not infringe upon anyone’s copyright.

Simultaneous submissions to other writing competitions are acceptable but please do us the courtesy of letting us know immediately if your work is accepted or wins a prize elsewhere.

We will not accept previously published, prize-winning or broadcast stories (previous online appearances constitute prior publication). Entries will be deemed ineligible if they are under contract to a publisher or broadcaster.

You may re-enter stories previously entered in this competition, but not past winners.

Once you have submitted a story, please do not plead with the organisers to replace it with a new version, as refusal may offend. If you resubmit a story online (you will need to pay again), please give it the same file name; it will over-write your old version.

Entries close at midnight 10 July 2020.

If you subsequently withdraw your entry, we will not refund your entry fee.

Entrants retain copyright in their story/ies.

Main Prize is $1500 for first and $500 for runner-up. In the Youth Prize there is a $500 first prize and a $250 prize for runner-up (13 to 18 years) and a creative writing tutorial with JD Shaw for 12 years and under. Supplementary prizes for all age groups may be offered at the discretion of the organisers.

The first-prize winning story will be published in Island magazine. All winning story/ies will be published on the OMSSA website.

The judging process
Judging is completely anonymous.

The entrant’s name must not appear in the file name or in the file’s title – only on the entry form.

The main prize judges are Julie Keys and Ben Walter, with the youth prizes judged by Helena Fox.

The judges’ decision is final, and no correspondence will be entered into about the judgments or the judging process.

OMSSA reserves the right to not award a prize.




Scroll to Top