Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » The Kathleen Mitchell Award

The Kathleen Mitchell Award

Date: Tue February 2 2021 12:00 am to Tue February 2 2021 11:59 pm

The Kathleen Mitchell Award is presented biennially to the author, aged 30 or under, of an outstanding novel or novella to encourage advancement in their literary career. The novel or novella must have been published or accepted for publication within the 2 years prior to the Award closing date. This can be demonstrated by the providing an ISBN or letter of confirmation from the publisher as part of your entry.

For the Kathleen Mitchell Award you may submit one entry only.

Established in 1996 by the will of the late Kathleen Adele Mitchell, the Award aims to encourage the advancement, improvement and betterment of Australian literature, and to provide emerging writers with funding to further their practice.

A list of previous recipients is available here.

Who can apply

To apply for this Award you must:

  • be aged 30 years or under at the closing date
  • have been born in Australia or the United Kingdom, or are currently Australian citizens
  • have been living in Australia for the 12 months preceding the closing date.

These are the terms established by deed of the Kathleen Mitchell Award and there are no exceptions to these requirements. To be eligible for this Award you must provide proof of your Australian citizenship or of your place of birth (e.g. birth certificate, passport). If you will have difficulty providing this, please contact Artists Services to discuss your situation.

Please note you must self-nominate for this Award.

Who can’t apply

You can’t apply for the Award if:

  • you do not hold copyright for the work you wish to submit for consideration
  • you received a grant, or administered a grant, from the Australia Council in the past and that grant has not been satisfactorily acquitted
  • you owe money to the Australia Council.


Your entry will be reviewed by industry advisors, including the current librarian of the Mitchell Library, State Library of NSW. The recommended recipient will be forwarded to Perpetual, who will make the final decision.

The decision of Perpetual is final and no feedback on entries or further correspondence on decisions will be provided.

Applications for the Award

Applications for the Award are submitted through our online system. If you are using the system for the first time you will need to register your details to access the application form.

For the Kathleen Mitchell Award you may submit one entry only.

We do not accept entries submitted via post. Any material received by post will not be assessed and will be returned to the sender. If you think you will have difficulty submitting your entry online, please contact the grants team.

Key dates

Applications close: Tuesday 2 February 2021 3pm AEDT (or earlier if application limit is met)

Amount: $15,000

Notification: Applicants will be notified of the outcome of their application by the end of April 2021.

Please note: Perpetual will only accept a limited number of scholarship proposals annually. Once this limit is met, no further proposals can be submitted.


For more information, visit the Australia Council website.

Scroll to Top