Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » The Dal Stivens Award

The Dal Stivens Award

Date: Tue February 2 2021 12:00 am to Tue February 2 2021 11:59 pm

The Dal Stivens Award is presented biennially to an author aged 30 or under, for a short story or essay of the highest literary merit. The story or essay must be:

  • between 3,000 and 10,000 words
  • published or accepted for publication within the 12 months prior to the Award closing date.

Self-published works will be accepted for this Award, but must be edited to a professional standard.

For the Dal Stivens Award you may submit up to two entries.

The Dal Stivens Award was established in the will of Juanita Cragen in 2007. Dal Stivens (1911-1997) was an Australian writer and founding President of the Australian Society of Authors in 1963. His written works include eight collections of short stories, from The Tramp and Other Stories (1936) to The Unicorn and Other Tales (1976).

Dal Stiven’s contribution to Australian literature was huge. He published his first novel, Jimmy Brockett, in 1948. As a freelance writer, his short stories were regularly published in Lilliput, The Times Literary Supplement, The Observer and John O’London’s Weekly. In 1969, Stivens was described in The Australian Book Review as “in the front ranks of Australia’s short story writers”. He won the Miles Franklin Award in 1970 for best Australian novel with A Horse of Air and in 1981 he won the Patrick White Award for his contribution to Australian Literature. He was honoured with a Special Achievement Award in the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards in 1994. Dal also wrote under the pseudonyms Jack Tarrant, John Sidney, Sam Johnson and L’Arva Street. Stivens was the Foundation President of the Australian Society of Authors and was instrumental in establishing the rights of Australian authors within the commercial sphere.

A list of previous recipients is available here.


Key dates

Applications close: Tuesday 2nd February 2021 3pm AEDT (or earlier if application limit is met)

Amount: $15,000

Notification: Applicants will be notified of the outcome of their application by the end of April 2021.

Please note: Perpetual will only accept a limited number of scholarship proposals annually. Once this limit is met, no further applications can be accepted.


For more information, visit the Australia Council website.

Scroll to Top