Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » The 2020 Barbara Jefferis Award

The 2020 Barbara Jefferis Award

Date: Fri April 17 2020 12:00 am to Thu June 25 2020 11:59 pm

With: The Australian Society of Authors

The Barbara Jefferis Award is offered for “the best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women and girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society”.

Barbara Jefferis was a feminist, a founding member of the Australian Society of Authors, its first woman President and, in the words of Thomas Keneally, “a rare being amongst authors, being both a fine writer but also organisationally gifted. She was a professional and internationally published writer long before most of us dreamed of such things”.

The Award is supported by the Barbara Jefferis Literary Fund, which was established as a result of a bequest from Barbara Jefferis’ husband, ABC film critic John Hinde, who died in 2006. The Australian Society of Authors is the Trustee of the Fund.

In 2020, the Award prize pool is valued at $55,000, with $50,000 for the winner and $5,000 to be shared among the short-listed authors, making this one of the most generous literary awards in Australia.


Key Dates 2020

Entries will open on 17 April 2020.

Entries will close at 5pm, AEST, on 25 June 2020.


Submission Information

The Barbara Jefferis Award is for a novel (book-length work of fiction) first published and distributed in the period 1 January 2018–31 December 2019.

Entries must conform to the Terms and Conditions. Please read them here.

The Award has an application fee per entry.

The fee per entry for novels submitted in the early bird period, which runs from 17 April 2020 to 15 May 2020, is $50 inc GST.

The fee per entry for novels submitted after the expiration of the early bird period and before submissions close, is $75 inc GST.



Visit https://www.asauthors.org/services/barbara-jefferis-award to submit your entry.

Scroll to Top