Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » Newcastle Short Story Award 2022

Newcastle Short Story Award 2022

Date: Mon April 25 2022 12:00 am to Mon April 25 2022 11:59 pm

The Newcastle Short Story Award (NSSA) an annual, national writing competition open to all Australians. 35 finalist works are chosen for publication in the annual anthology, which is printed in Newcastle and sold online via HWC website, via Australian bookshops and published as an ebook. Several prizes are available thanks to our generous donors including The University of Newcastle, Westfield Kotara, Officeworks Kotara, Catchfire Press, and more.

1st Prize: $2000, donated by The University of Newcastle, School of Humanities and Social Science

2nd Prize: $1000, donated by Westfield Kotara*

3rd Prize: $700, donated by The Hunter Writers Centre

Highly Commended Award: $500, from Catchfire Press

$250 prize pack: latest Kindle, microphone and headphones, donated by Officeworks

Commended Award: $200 from Foghorn Brewhouse

Commended Award: Residency at Lighthouse Arts (valued at $200)


Local Awards

If your short story is selected for the anthology and you live in a Hunter region LGA you are eligible for one of these prizes:

Macquariedale Organic Wines: $250 Wine Voucher

Pepper Tree Wines: A 6 pack of Varietal Pepper Tree Wines plus a voucher (valued at $120) to The Vault for a ‘Best of Four Worlds’ Tasting for 4 people
Tamburlaine organic wines: A case of wine

Tulloch wines: $100 Cellar Door Voucher


2022 Judges

Joey Bui
Joey Bui is a Vietnamese Australian writer. Her debut book, Lucky Ticket, won the University of Southern Queensland Steele Rudd Award and was shortlisted for the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction and the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards, among others. Joey was also named one of the Best Young Australian Novelists of 2020. 

Bram Presser
Bram Presser is a semi-reformed punk rocker, recovering academic, lapsed criminal lawyer and two-time cartoon character. His debut novel, The Book of Dirt, won the National Jewish Book Award for Debut Fiction (USA), the Voss Literary Prize (Aus) and three prizes in the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards: the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction, the UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing and the People’s Choice Award.



For more information and submissions, visit the Hunter Writers Centre at: https://hunterwriterscentre.org/newcastle-short-story-award-2022/

Scroll to Top