Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » Mark & Evette Moran NIB Literary Award

Mark & Evette Moran NIB Literary Award

Date: Mon June 14 2021 12:00 am to Mon June 14 2021 11:59 pm

The Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award presented by Waverley Council with support from Principal Sponsors Mark and Evette Moran, celebrates excellence in research and writing in Australia. It is the only major national literary award of its kind presented by a local council.


2021 Nominations open

Waverley Council is proud to announce that nominations are now open for the Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award. In 2021, The Nib celebrates its 20th anniversary with a continued legacy of judging works against a specific award criterion of excellence in research, high level of literary merit, readability and value to the community.


A total of $28,500 in prize money will be awarded across three categories:

  • Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award ($20,000 prize)
  • Alex Buzo Nib Shortlist Prize (6 x $1,000 prizes)
  • Nib People’s Choice Prize ($2,500 prize)

All Australian writers (and their publishers) are invited nominate a published work/s of any genre. Titles first published between 1 July 2020 and 30 June 2021 are eligible for this year’s award.


Nominations close Monday 14 June 2021.


For more information visit https://www.waverley.nsw.gov.au/recreation/arts_and_culture/nib

Scroll to Top