Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » Les Carlyon Literary Prize

Les Carlyon Literary Prize

Date: Sat April 25 2020 12:00 am to Tue June 30 2020 11:59 pm

The Australian War Memorial is proud to announce the establishment of the Les Carlyon Literary Prize.

The biennial prize is dedicated to the memory of Mr Les Carlyon AC, who passed away on 4 March 2019. Historian, author, journalist, and long serving member of the Council of the Australian War Memorial, Mr Carlyon wrote a number of works on Australian history, including the critically acclaimed Gallipoli (2001) and The Great War (2006). He served on the Council of the Australian War Memorial from May 2006 until his passing. He was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia for “eminent service to literature through the promotion of the national identity as an author, editor and journalist, to the understanding and appreciation of Australia’s war history, and to the horseracing industry” in 2014.

“The hard bit is getting the words right”, Mr Carlyon said. In recognition of his literary legacy, the Memorial has initiated the Les Carlyon Literary Prize, intended to encourage and support emerging writers.

It will be awarded for an author’s first major publication relating to Australian military history, social military history, or war history. 

Entries will be open to works of fiction and non-fiction published between 2018 – June 2020. The author of the winning work will receive a prize of $10,000. 

Entrants will be required to submit five copies of the work for judging. Copies of submitted works will be offered as donations to the Memorial’s National Collection via the Research Centre.

Entries open 25 April and close 30 June 2020.

Shortlisted finalists will be announced publically in October and the winner in November.


For further information, please contact:

Dr Karl James
Head, Military History
Australian War Memorial
GPO Box 345

Email: LesCarlyonPrize@awm.gov.au



Scroll to Top