Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » Kathleen Mitchell Award

Kathleen Mitchell Award

Date: Thu November 10 2022 9:00 am to Sat January 7 2023 5:00 pm

Australia Council for the Arts logo

The Kathleen Mitchell Award is presented biennially to the author, aged 30 or under, of an outstanding novel or novella to encourage advancement in their literary career. The novel or novella must have been published or accepted for publication within the 2 years prior to the Award closing date. This can be demonstrated by the providing an ISBN or letter of confirmation from the publisher as part of your entry.

The recipient will receive $15,000.

For the Kathleen Mitchell Award you may submit one entry only.

Established in 1996 by the will of the late Kathleen Adele Mitchell, the Award aims to encourage the advancement, improvement and betterment of Australian literature, and to provide emerging writers with funding to further their practice.

The Award is administered by the Australia Council on behalf of Perpetual as trustee.

A list of previous recipients is available here.

    Key dates

    Applications close: Tuesday 7 February 2023 3pm AEDT (or earlier if application limit is met)

    Amount: $15,000

    Notification: Applicants will be notified of the outcome of their application by the end of April 2023.

    Who can apply

    To apply for this Award you must:

    • be aged 30 years or under at the 7 February 2023 closing date
    • have been born in Australia or the United Kingdom, or are currently an Australian citizen
    • have been living in Australia for the 12 months preceding the 7 February 2023 closing date.

    These are the terms established by deed of the Kathleen Mitchell Award and there are no exceptions to these requirements. To be eligible for this Award you must provide proof of your Australian citizenship or of your place of birth (eg birth certificate, passport). If you will have difficulty providing this, please contact Artists Services to discuss your situation.

    Please note you must self-nominate for this Award, and only one entry per applicant will be accepted.

    Who can’t apply

    You can’t apply for the Award if:

    • you do not hold copyright for the work you wish to submit for consideration
    • your novel or novella has not been published or accepted for publication within the 2 years prior to the 7 February 2023 closing date
    • you received a grant, or administered a grant, from the Australia Council in the past and that grant has not been satisfactorily acquitted
    • you owe money to the Australia Council.

    For more information and to apply, visit the Australia Council website here.

    Scroll to Top