Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » 2024 Daisy Utemorrah Award

2024 Daisy Utemorrah Award

Date: Tue January 30 2024 1:41 pm to Mon March 25 2024 5:00 pm

With: Magabala Books

Magabala Books has opened applications for the Daisy Utemorrah Award as part of the Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards in 2024. Previous winners include Kirli Saunders, Teela Reid, Jared Thomas, and Carl Merrison and Hakea Hustler.

The Daisy Utemorrah Award is presented annually for an outstanding unpublished manuscript of junior or YA fiction by an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander writer. Generously supported by the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund and the State Government of Western Australia, the winner receives a cash prize of $15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books.

Published and unpublished First Nation writers of all ages are eligible to enter with works of junior or YA fiction.

Applications close on 25 March 2024, 5pm.

For more information about the award and how to enter, visit the Magabala Books website here.

Scroll to Top