Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » 2023 Boundless Indigenous Writer’s Mentorship Program

2023 Boundless Indigenous Writer’s Mentorship Program

Date: Wed October 5 2022 9:00 am to Mon December 12 2022 11:59 pm

Boundless Indigenous Writers Mentorship

Presented by Writing NSW and Text Publishing

Applications open: Wednesday 5 October 2022

Applications close: midnight (AEST) Monday 12 December 2022

Writing NSW and Text Publishing present the 2023 Boundless Indigenous Writer’s Mentorship, with support from the First Nations Australia Writers Network (FNAWN) and Booktopia. The mentorship is awarded annually to an unpublished Indigenous writer who has made substantial progress on a work of fiction or non-fiction. The intention of the program is to support the writer to develop their manuscript and to facilitate a pathway to publication.

The program will pair an emerging Indigenous writer from anywhere in Australia with a senior Indigenous writer for a structured year-long mentorship. The writer will receive 20 hours of mentorship over the following year, including feedback on their work in progress and general advice on writing and developing a publishing career. If possible, an opportunity to meet with the mentor face to face will be provided. The writer will also receive editorial feedback and manuscript development from Text Publishing and access to Writing NSW professional development services.

At the conclusion of the mentorship, Text Publishing will have the exclusive first right to consider the winning manuscript for publication, under terms to be negotiated with the writer. Since the establishment of the mentorship in 2019 two of the mentored writers, John Morrissey and Lenora Thaker, have been offered publishing deals by Text Publishing.

Writers do not need to have a full manuscript at the time of submission, though they must have made substantial progress on a manuscript, which they intend to complete (refer to submission requirements). Applicants must not previously have had a full-length work of fiction or non-fiction professionally published.

Submissions must be either a work of fiction (including short-story collections) or narrative non-fiction for adult, kids (middle grade) or young adults. Please note that poetry, plays, picture books and practical non-fiction are ineligible.

Submissions will be judged by Jane Harrison, an award-winning playwright and author who is descended from the Muruwari people of NSW, in consultation with representatives from Text Publishing and Writing NSW.

For more information and to apply, visit the Writing NSW website here.

Scroll to Top