Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » 2021 Newcastle Short Story Award

2021 Newcastle Short Story Award

Date: Wed April 14 2021 12:00 am to Wed April 14 2021 11:59 pm

2021 Newcastle Short Story Award

Open for entries

$7500 in prizes

Closes 8pm (AEDT), Wednesday 14th April, 2021


2021 Judges

Competition judge, Amanda O’Callaghan’s short fiction has been published and won awards in Australia, the United Kingdom and Ireland. Her work has been awarded and shortlisted in the Bridport Prize, Carmel Bird Award, E J Brady Award, Bristol Prize, Bath Flash Fiction Award, Fish Short Story Prize, Aeon Award, Flash 500 Award, and others. She is a recipient of a Queensland Writers Fellowship. She holds a PhD in English from the University of Queensland. Her short story collection, This Taste for Silence (UQP, 2019), was shortlisted for the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction (2019). She lives in Brisbane.

Competition judge Jay Carmichael had his first novel, Ironbark, shortlisted for both the Victorian Premier’s Award for Fiction in 2019 and the Victorian Premier’s Award for an Unpublished Manuscript in 2016. His writing has been published by beyondblue and appeared widely in print and online, including in Overland, The Guardian, SBS, and The Telling Tree project.


1st Prize: $3000
2nd Prize: $1500
3rd Prize: $1000


For more information and to enter, visit the Hunter Writers Centre website.

Scroll to Top