Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » 2021 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript

2021 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript

Date: Mon November 30 2020 12:00 am to Mon November 30 2020 11:59 pm

The 2021 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript is now open for submissions for the month of November. 

Dorothy Hewett (1923-2002) is considered one of Australia’s most important writers whose work challenged the norms of twentieth century Australian culture. As a writer, Hewett made her mark as a poet, playwright, novelist, short-story writer memoirist and staunch activist, Hewett’s life and work gave voice to the marginalised. In 1986, Hewett was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her services to literature. Hewett won the Western Australian Premier’s Poetry Award in 1994 and 1995 for her collections Peninsula and Collected Poems: 1940-1995.

The Dorothy Hewett Award is open to all writers who have completed a manuscript and are seeking publication. The work must be fiction, narrative nonfiction or poetry, inclusive of hybrid genres such as verse novels or memoir. The winner will receive a cash prize of $10,000, courtesy of Copyright Agency, and will be offered a publishing contract by UWA Publishing. The 2020 Award winner was Karen Wyld’s debut novel, Where the Fruit Falls. The inaugural winner, Extinctions by Josephine Wilson, went on to win the Miles Franklin Literary Award.

Entry guidelines can be viewed here. Entries will close Monday November 30th at 5pm AWST, with the shortlist to be announced early next year. Click here to submit.

More information can be found on the UWA website here.

Scroll to Top