Home » Calendars » Opportunities and Competitions » 2016 Write-ability Fellowships open

2016 Write-ability Fellowships open

Date: Mon July 4 2016 12:00 am to Mon July 4 2016 11:59 pm

With: Writers Victoria

Applications for the 2016 Write-ability Fellowships are now open.

Five writers with disability will be offered professional development opportunities at Writers Victoria.  Each fellow will receive an individual Write-ability Fellowship professional development plan that could include being matched with a professional writer for six hours of free mentoring or a Writers Victoria Manuscript Assessment or attending a mix of agreed relevant course(s) and/or events at Writers Victoria.

How to apply

To be eligible for the Fellowships, applicants must identify as an emerging writer with disability and be resident of Victoria. WV staff or Committee of Management members are not eligible to apply.

To apply, you need to send us the following by 4pm on Monday 4 July 2016:

  • Completed application form
  • An extract of your writing from your Write-ability Fellowship project (up to 1,000 words).

Download: Write-ability Fellowship Guidelines and Application

Please let us know if you’d like to receive the form in an alternative format.

You can email your application to Fiona (link sends e-mail) (preferred) or you post or drop off your application in person (during business hours 10am-4pm Monday to Friday) to: Writers Victoria, Level 3, The Wheeler Centre, 176 Little Lonsdale Street, Melbourne 3000.

About the Write-ability Fellowships

A partnership between Arts Access Victoria and Writers Victoria, the Write-ability program aims to support Victorian writers with disability who want to develop their skills and writing careers.

Now in their fourth year, the Write-ability Fellowships are supported by the Grace Marion Wilson Trust. The Write-ability program is also made possible by the generous support of the Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation.

Previous Fellows

In 2015 the Write-ability Fellowships were awarded to Naomi Fryers, Jax Jacki Brown, Grant Cleary, Ashlee Bye and Gail M Shell.

The 2014 Write-ability Fellowships were awarded to Nicole Smith, Giovanni di Mase, Sarah Widdup, Michelle Roger and Kate Morrell.

The 2013 Write-ability Fellowships were awarded to Heidi Everett, Robbie O’Brien, Jack Waghorn, Kate Hood and Carly Findlay.

Scroll to Top