Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship

The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship supports Australian writers of biography, and extends to include a writer who is working on an aspect of cultural or social history. The Fellowship awards $15,000 to assist with travel and research.

Key dates

2019 applications have closed and the winner will be announced during Adelaide Writers’ Week, following the Hazel Rowley Memorial lecture to be given by award-winning author, Maria Tumarkin on Monday 4 March 2019.

2018 Fellows

Jacqueline Kent was awarded the $15,000 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship for her proposed biography of Vida Goldstein. “We are delighted to award the 2018 Fellowship to Jacqueline Kent who is a distinguished biographer and will bring great insight and narrative flair to the extraordinary life of Vida Goldstein, a pivotal figure in the suffragette movement in Australia and internationally,” said Jenny Hocking, one of the four judges.

This year’s judges also awarded a Special Hazel Rowley Award of $15,000 to Drusilla Modjeska. “We are thrilled to present this special award to Drusilla who is one of Australia’s finest writers, and a great innovator in the art of biography and memoir,” said Della Rowley, Hazel’s sister. 

Past Fellows

In 2017, the Fellowship was awarded to Anne-Marie Priest (QLD) biography of Australian poet Gwen Harwood (1920-1995). For the first time, the Fellowship also made a highly-commended award of $3,000 to Suzanne Spunner (Vic) for her biography of East Kimberley artist Rover Thomas.

The 2016 Fellowship was awarded to Matthew Lamb (TAS) for his proposed cultural biography of the Australian writer Frank Moorhouse.

The 2015 Fellowship winner was announced at Adelaide Writers Week. Caroline Baum will use the $10,000 Fellowship to write a biography of Lucie Dreyfus (1870-1945).

The 2014 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was awarded to Maxine Beneba Clarke (Vic). Maxine's autobiography ‘The Hate Race’ – a memoir about growing up black in white middle-class Australia – was published by Hachette in August 2016.

The 2013 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was awarded to Stephany Steggall whose biography of Thomas Keneally, ‘Interestingly Enough’ was published by Nero in 2015..

The 2012 winner, Mary Hoban, worked on a biography of Julia Arnold (nee Sorell, 1826-1888).

The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship is supported by the Hazel Rowley Literary Fund; a sub-fund of Australian Communities Foundation.