Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship

The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship is open to Australian writers of biography, and also extends to include a writer who is working on an aspect of cultural or social history that is compatible with Hazel’s interest areas.

Applications for the 2015 Fellowship close on 16 November 2014. The shortlist is announced in January 2015 and the Fellowship is awarded in March 2015.

Click here to apply

The 2014 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was awarded to Maxine Beneba Clarke who will use the $10,000 fellowship to work on part two of her proposed autobiography, ‘The Hate Race’ – a memoir about growing up black in white middle-class Australia. The fellowship will allow the Caribbean-Australian writer to ‘go back to where she came from’ – to travel from Australia to England re-tracing her parents’ journey, from England to the Caribbean re-tracing her grandparents’ migration, and from the Caribbean to Africa in search of the ancestors transported to the Caribbean as slaves.

The 2013 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was awarded to Stephany Steggall who is writing a biography of Thomas Keneally, Booker Prize winner for Schindler’s Ark.

The 2012 winner, Mary Hoban, worked on a biography of Julia Arnold (nee Sorell, 1826-1888).

The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship is supported by the Hazel Rowley Literary Fund; a sub-fund of Australian Communities Foundation.

Writers Victoria

Writers Victoria
Level 3, 176 Little Lonsdale Street, the Wheeler Centre
Melbourne VIC 3000

Tel: 03 9094 7855
Fax: 03 9650 8010

Opening hours: Monday to Friday, 10am-5pm