Winter School: Writing Grief and Trauma

 Registration is closed for this event

Eliza Henry-Jones
23 July 2018 - 10:00 to 4:00 PM
Eliza Henry-Jones
Emerging
Trauma and grief are daunting issues to write about.

In this one day workshop you will learn what trauma and grief actually are, how to address them in your writing and how to keep yourself safe while doing so. Learn practical tips for exploring grief and trauma and have a go at some fiction writing exercises.

You will learn

  • to understand trauma and grief
  • self care when writing trauma and grief
  • practical approaches to writing grief and trauma
  • strategies to avoid clichés and make your work stand out
  • exercises to address trauma and grief in unique ways.

About Eliza Henry-Jones

Eliza is a Melbourne-based writer. Her debut novel ‘In the Quiet’ was shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards, the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction and longlisted for the ABIA and Indie Book Awards. She has qualifications in grief, loss and trauma counseling and psychology, and has completed a thesis exploring bushfire trauma. Her work has also appeared in DailyLife, Southerly, Island, Seizure, LiNQ and many other places.

Read more about our other Winter School workshops:

Winter School: The Novel of Ideas, Monday 16 July

Winter School: Voice and Point of View, Tuesday 17 July

Winter School: Writing for the Education Market, Wednesday 18 July

Winter School: Building Emotional Resonance, Thursday 19 July

Winter School: Problem Solving in Literary Fiction, Friday 20 July

Winter School: The Body, Writing, Saturday 21 July

Winter School: Finding the Loose Brick – Writer’s Block, Sunday 22 July

Winter School: Who, What and Why – The Plotting Triangle, Tuesday 24 July

Winter School: Poetic Voice Masterclass, Wednesday 25 July

Winter School: Writing Long-Form Journalism, Thursday 26 July

Winter School: Making Social Media Work, Friday 27 July

Winter School: Series Fiction for Children, Saturday 28 July

Winter School: Writing the Self in Creative Non-Fiction, Sunday 29 July

Event registration fee
Concession member $ 135.00
Member $ 145.00
Non-member $ 195.00
Donation

Help spread the word

Please help us and let your friends, colleagues and followers know about our page: Winter School: Writing Grief and Trauma


You can also share the below link in an email or on your website.
https://writersvictoria.org.au/civicrm/event/info?id=428&reset=1